Fly Away Simulation - Free Resources for FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!
 RegisterRegister now!   SearchSearch   LoginLogin 

Is this mail real?

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
CrashGordon
Chief Captain
Chief Captain


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 4668
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:56 pm 

Is anyone else getting email, supposedly from downloadable@flyawaysimulation.com ? These emails purport to be selling "FS2004 Martin Seamaster P6M-2 Only $2!"

Does anyone know if these emails are genuine? They appear to contain links to paypal, but then again, half of the junkmail I get has links to paypal. Rolling Eyes
CrashGordon
CEO, Omega-Air Virtual airlines
Back to top
View users profile
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain


Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 16894
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:02 am 

Dont Know

Read http://flyawaysimulation.com/postt12547.html

Radar
Back to top
View users profile
tomthetank
Chief Captain
Chief Captain


Joined: Aug 24, 2003
Posts: 3588
Location: Newport S/Wales
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:11 am 

Same here Dont Know As Ive not had that email(and being a mod I get 100s from flyaway)

edit
OK not 100s but a fair few


Last edited by tomthetank on Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View users profile
CrashGordon
Chief Captain
Chief Captain


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 4668
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:12 am 

I didn't notice SamIntel's post. Unless someone has harvested our email addresses, I uspect it might be real. Only then, I would ask the question:

Why would anyone use junk mail when it could be placed on this web site? While it might reach those who haven't been interested in browsing here, it might also cause a lot of folks to adjust their spam filters to consign that email address to the lowest level of hell. Devil
CrashGordon
CEO, Omega-Air Virtual airlines
Back to top
View users profile
Ville
Trainee
Trainee


Joined: Jul 31, 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Pirkkala,Finland
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:05 am 

Hello!

My first post to this forums.

I received also that e-mail but i'm quite sure that it isn't real. If you have looked other flight simulator sites you will find out this aircraft has been released few weeks ago as freeware. At least the picture and description is same than in "fly away simulation" e-mail.

Copied from flightsim.com
Name: seazip.zip Size: 1,464,560 Date: 02-16-2006 Downloads: 1264
FS2004 Martin Seamaster P6M-2. A swept wing, four jet, transonic flying boat--what a handful! Entirely new aircraft and effects made with FSDSv2. Plane and panel by Frank Elton, Pegasus Aviation Design.


Ville
Back to top
View users profile
Greekman72
Chief Captain
Chief Captain


Joined: Jun 15, 2005
Posts: 7055
Location: Hellas
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 9:09 am 

Welcome to Fly Away dear Ville Wink Thumbs Up!
Back to top
View users profile
99jolegg
Chief Captain
Chief Captain


Joined: Jun 26, 2004
Posts: 5429
Location: UK
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:40 pm 

Welcome to Flyaway Group Wave
Click below to support FSF:
Back to top
View users profile
CrashGordon
Chief Captain
Chief Captain


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 4668
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:06 pm 

Ville wrote:
Hello!

My first post to this forums.

I received also that e-mail but i'm quite sure that it isn't real. If you have looked other flight simulator sites you will find out this aircraft has been released few weeks ago as freeware. At least the picture and description is same than in "fly away simulation" e-mail.

Copied from flightsim.com
Name: seazip.zip Size: 1,464,560 Date: 02-16-2006 Downloads: 1264
FS2004 Martin Seamaster P6M-2. A swept wing, four jet, transonic flying boat--what a handful! Entirely new aircraft and effects made with FSDSv2. Plane and panel by Frank Elton, Pegasus Aviation Design.


Ville


First, welcome to Flyaway.

The fact that you got that email before your first post to these forums, tells me that either the mail is genuine, or that the site has been hacked and member information has been obtained by someone.

If the former, flyaway might want to explain why a plane available for free, is being sold for $2.00. If the latter, the membership should be notified and the site fixed.

By the way, this is part of the zip file and means that commercial use is not permitted.


THE ORIGINAL DESIGN AND SOURCE FILES FOR THIS AIRCRAFT ARE THE INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY OF PEGASUS AVIATION DESIGN AND MAY BE AVAILABLE FOR USE BY THIRD PARTIES ONLY UPON WRITTEN (EMAIL) ENQUIRY (SEE EMAIL ADDRESS AT BOTTOM OF THIS NOTICE).

ALL CONTENTS OF THIS FILE ARE COPYRIGHT TO PEGASUS AVIATION DESIGN

NO PART OR ELEMENT OF THIS FILE IS AVAILABLE FOR ANY COMMERCIAL PURPOSE
INCLUDING PAY PER ACCESS WEBSITES. IN PARTICULAR, NO PART OR ELEMENT OF
THIS FILE IS TO BE UPLOADED TO COMPUSERVE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES

IF UPLOADED TO FREEWARE SITES THIS FILE MUST ALWAYS BE COMPLETE WITH ALL PARTS/ELEMENTS AS ORIGINALLY UPLOADED BY PEGASUS AVIATION DESIGN AND CARRY FULL CREDIT FOR THE AUTHOR(S). ANY REPAINTING, REPACKAGING OR EDITING OF THE MODEL IS TOTALLY FORBIDDEN WITHOUT WRITTEN CONSENT BY PEGASUS AVIATION DESIGN.

YOU MAY USE THE FILE FOR YOUR OWN DOWNLOAD SITE ONLY ON THE ABOVE CONDITIONS
AND FULL CREDIT TO THE AUTHOR(S) OF THE FILES AS NAMED ABOVE, AND PEGASUS AVIATION
DESIGN

THANK YOU FOR READING AND COMPLYING WITH THE CONDITIONS SET OUT IN THIS NOTICE

PEGASUS AVIATION DESIGN
CrashGordon
CEO, Omega-Air Virtual airlines
Back to top
View users profile
Ville
Trainee
Trainee


Joined: Jul 31, 2003
Posts: 10
Location: Pirkkala,Finland
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:04 pm 

Thanks for everyone of welcome messages. CrashGordon I have been a registered member for a long time (year or two) but I haven't just wrote anything to these forums before this day.

I mainly thinked that mail must be fake as I can't see any reason why anyone would ask for money of a product which can be downloaded legally for free.

Lets wait for a answer from flyaway. By the way i'm already coming quite addicted to this forum Very Happy

Ville
Back to top
View users profile
CrashGordon
Chief Captain
Chief Captain


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 4668
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:29 pm 

I can see that. The number of times you posted has doubled. Shocked Laughing

Since I haven't seen a whole lot of people saying, "i got one of those emails", I have a hunch that they are either being snagged by anti-spam programs, or only a few such emails have been sent.

What makes mey think they might be real is the fact that I got one to the email address I used when I signed up and one to the one I changed it to later on.
CrashGordon
CEO, Omega-Air Virtual airlines
Back to top
View users profile
Liono
Chief Captain
Chief Captain


Joined: Jan 17, 2005
Posts: 1614
Location: Northwich (Cheshire) England.
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:55 pm 

CrashGordon,

I got the same email late last night and straight away I deleted it with most of the emails I get from flyaway.

Also by looking over the quote from the read me the plane can't even be hosted on the FlyAway server
NO PART OR ELEMENT OF THIS FILE IS AVAILABLE FOR ANY COMMERCIAL PURPOSE
INCLUDING PAY PER ACCESS WEBSITES. IN PARTICULAR, NO PART OR ELEMENT OF
THIS FILE IS TO BE UPLOADED TO COMPUSERVE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES


Can't the person who made the plane complain if he/she ever found out??
Back to top
View users profile
CrashGordon
Chief Captain
Chief Captain


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 4668
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 8:29 pm 

Liono wrote:
CrashGordon,

I got the same email late last night and straight away I deleted it with most of the emails I get from flyaway.

Also by looking over the quote from the read me the plane can't even be hosted on the FlyAway server
NO PART OR ELEMENT OF THIS FILE IS AVAILABLE FOR ANY COMMERCIAL PURPOSE
INCLUDING PAY PER ACCESS WEBSITES. IN PARTICULAR, NO PART OR ELEMENT OF
THIS FILE IS TO BE UPLOADED TO COMPUSERVE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES


Can't the person who made the plane complain if he/she ever found out??


You are correct. It can't be hosted on a site that charges for access and can't be sold in any manner.

The person could sue for copyright infringement, but at the moment, it would be difficult to prevail in any meaningful way, in such a suit. The plaintiff would have to establish that he/she suffered damage.

So, when someone wants to charge $2.00 for an item that is being given away, what damage has occurred?

What I do want is the identity of anyone who paid 2 bucks for a free plane. You see, I have this bridge for sale. Laughing
CrashGordon
CEO, Omega-Air Virtual airlines
Back to top
View users profile
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Search

Search for aircraft, downloads, news and even the discussion forums all from here.

Unlimited Downloads

Unlimited access to thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane flight simulator downloads including aircraft, scenery and expansions for only $5 per month. Along with many other benefits and features.

Register now

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight?

Yes, I really enjoy playing it!
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with FSX
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004
No, X-Plane all the way!
...Microsoft what?

Votes 71

Social

 
RSS Feed iPhone App
Customer Support