Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

FSX_GA_TRAFFIC revisited

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
oldsamer
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 31, 2007
Posts: 335
Location: El Paso TX
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:45 pm 

This addon has been dis-cuss'd previously in the addons forum. It's been a while and more O us have downloadeed it. I'm canvasin this forum now for a 2nd o-pin-uon.

effieveda wrote
Warning - stay away from FSX_GA_TRAFFIC. It can be found on this site under Flightsim Downloads > FSX utilities. I downloaded and installed FSX_GA_TRAFFIC from your site. A huge mistake! Now I've got traffic alright, but my fps took a big hit. Went from a reasonable 20 to 25 with most settings at medium to about 6 after the install. Now even with all settings set to minimum. I get about 10 fps and that's just looking at a plane sitting parked. Nothing is moving. So I uninstalled it and it made no difference.

from Flyaway downloads page;
FSX GA-Traffic second release candidate. GA-Traffic is the first fully automatic general aviation (GA) traffic generator, now for FSX.
Compatibility: Microsoft Flight Simulator X
Filesize: 6.59 MB
Added on: Apr-06-2007
Downloads: 137

Latest postings about FSX_GA_Traffic on AVSIM forum (authors home forum).
post # 321
I had installed your program and it worked great.
But I had recently installed SP1 and TrafficX and lost all my GA traffic at my small airports. I have tried to re-compile GA Traffic and it does show up in my scenery folder but still no traffic at small airports.
I am not sure which install is causing the problem (SP1 or TrafficX)
Any suggestions?
post #322
Okay I deleted the TrafficX bgl and all my small airport traffic is back. There is a conflix between TrafficX and GATraffic. I like the airline traffic, however most of my flying is done at small airports so I am sticking with GATraffic.

I'm looking for folks who have this addon running satisfactoraly in their FSX.
Back to top
oldsamer
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 31, 2007
Posts: 335
Location: El Paso TX
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:50 pm 

I took the risk and installed GA

italics are oldsamer's anotation to parts of the FSX_GA_Traffic readme

This is the second Release Candidate of FSX GA-Traffic. The version is not compatible with GA-Traffic for FS9 or the previous BETA version! It only works withs FSX. (and FSX sp1)

To install just extract the ZIP to a temporary folder and start the setup.exe. (Did my winXp extract after D/L ?, I didn't have to do this, it was "extracted" within the zip folder I downloaded)

I recommend a max traffic generation setting of 50% or less. If you have special AI optimized planes and a high end computer you could try 70%, but more will you give so much traffic that it is difficult or impossible to send a communication message. (My airline traffic is 0% & general aviation is 100% without problems)

IMPORTANT: All traffic generated with FSX GA-Traffic will be shown in FSX, regardless of the slider settings in FSX!
So please don't generate more traffic than your computer can handle! (havn't so far)

New Features:
I added a new feature, which allows to select or deselect whole countries in the Airports Tab. To use this feature I recommend to first select "World" and then remove "Use" and press apply. This will deselect ALL countries. After that go to the countries you want and select the "Use" for the country you want, press apply and select the next country. After finishing that the "Generate Flightplan" will only generate Flightplans for the selected countries. To select all countries again, just select "Use" at "World".
(I did that, then only selected to use Texas. Then un-selected with (?) all aircraft except yellow cubs. and use only small fields by student pilots. also setup GA to use max ramp parking spaces.)

note: ya gotta "generate flightplan" before starting FSX !!

Now TEXAS is populated by 100s of yellow cubs flying touch and gos... YA
Back to top
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your free copy of Microsoft Flight?

Yes, I really enjoy playing it!
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with FSX
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004
No, X-Plane all the way!
...Microsoft what?

Votes 46620

Social

 
RSS Feed iPhone App
© Fly Away Simulation
Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us