Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

Sudden + extreme drop in frame rates

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
walesdragon
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 05, 2008
Posts: 560
Location: Adelaide, South Australia. Come visit me! =D
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:04 pm 

I'm about to take off, And I lift off the runway and a couple of seconds later BAM! My frame rates drop from about 30 FPS to 5FPS. I wait about 40- 60 seconds then it returns to about 30, then a couple of seconds later it happens again. I recently tried WOAI and that happened, I removed it and the problem still persists. I removed all unused aircraft and it still happens.

Anyone know the solution? Help would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
Westernstyle
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 21, 2007
Posts: 740
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:18 pm 

Could you take a Screenshot of the position you are in? I might be able to help.
Back to top
Col7777
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Dec 26, 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Manchester UK
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 6:39 pm 

It's usually the last thing you installed or altered, if you uninstall the last or do a system restore.
Back to top
acepilot32
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 05, 2007
Posts: 810
Location: illinois
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 7:07 pm 

some recenltley installed scenery thats what always drops my fps try changing the scenery to a lower level and see if that helps or turn the density down.
Back to top
walesdragon
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 05, 2008
Posts: 560
Location: Adelaide, South Australia. Come visit me! =D
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 9:36 pm 

Westernstyle wrote:
Could you take a Screenshot of the position you are in? I might be able to help.


Sorry westernstyle, Doesn't matter what position I'm in, it happens everywhere.
Back to top
Westernstyle
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 21, 2007
Posts: 740
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:04 pm 

ok Smile
Back to top
CaptDennison
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 22, 2004
Posts: 274
Location: Arizona, USA
Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 8:21 am 

You have something running in the background--go search for a program called END IT ALL--install it, run it BEWFORE you start FS, and then make sure to hit the Windows Task Manager (Control/Alt/Del) and set FS to ABOVE NORMAL__things will run and look great
Back to top
Cheeks
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 09, 2004
Posts: 2500
Location: YSSY
Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 8:57 am 

I assume you have the FPS setting to unlimited, try locking it to 30 and see what happens, when I leave it on unlimited I studder as well, so locking it helps me Wink Let us know the results, thats if you dont have it on unlimited Laughing
Please direct your complaints to the moon, they might care there.
Back to top
walesdragon
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 05, 2008
Posts: 560
Location: Adelaide, South Australia. Come visit me! =D
Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 11:15 am 

I flew around for a couple of hours today and nothing seemed to happen. Maybe it was just a one day thing. If this problem happens again, I'll be sure to use all your advice.

Thanks.
Back to top
SpiderWings
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 04, 2004
Posts: 769
Location: KVEL - USA
Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:51 am 

CaptDennison wrote:
You have something running in the background--go search for a program called END IT ALL--install it, run it BEWFORE you start FS, and then make sure to hit the Windows Task Manager (Control/Alt/Del) and set FS to ABOVE NORMAL__things will run and look great


I downloaded END IT ALL but have never used it because it scared me to death making me think it would end stuff that would make my system unstable.

But I want to try the ABOVE NORMAL setting for FS in the Task Manager. However, I can't see how to do that. Can you provide a bit more detail on that? Thanks.
Back to top
walesdragon
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 05, 2008
Posts: 560
Location: Adelaide, South Australia. Come visit me! =D
Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 7:46 am 

SpiderWings wrote:
CaptDennison wrote:
You have something running in the background--go search for a program called END IT ALL--install it, run it BEWFORE you start FS, and then make sure to hit the Windows Task Manager (Control/Alt/Del) and set FS to ABOVE NORMAL__things will run and look great


I downloaded END IT ALL but have never used it because it scared me to death making me think it would end stuff that would make my system unstable.

But I want to try the ABOVE NORMAL setting for FS in the Task Manager. However, I can't see how to do that. Can you provide a bit more detail on that? Thanks.


I just gave it a shot dude. What you do is (have FS2004 running) hit ctrl + alt + del then go to the "Processes" tab. Look for the FS9.exe, right click on fs9.exe then go to set priority and click above normal, and then press ok. That should do it.
Back to top
walesdragon
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 05, 2008
Posts: 560
Location: Adelaide, South Australia. Come visit me! =D
Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:09 am 

It's happening again -_- ...
Back to top
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Hot Payware

Survey

Have you downloaded your free copy of Microsoft Flight?

Yes, I really enjoy playing it!
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with FSX
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004
No, X-Plane all the way!
...Microsoft what?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 53201

Social

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2014 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.