Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

Saitek Pro Flight

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
matt_flyaway
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2009
Posts: 79
Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2011 1:06 pm 

Anyone on here know anything about saitek pro flight components? I have purchased a few items and they are giving me trouble.

I have the yoke and throttle setup and just recently purchased the rudder pedals also. Before I got the rudder pedals I was just using auto rudder function. I loaded the new software and followed the online instructions for calibrating the pedals. Every time I plug the rudder pedals in, via USB, my plan just turns to the right or to the left. I cannot get the pedals to center on screen.

Any help would be appreciated!
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:07 pm 

Hi there,

the problem is that the default key assignments for the saitek rudder in FSX are totaly messed up. The rudder is assigned to the ailerons and stuff like that. You have to edit yourself, which is easy. Go to settings in FSX and assign the correct axis to the rudder. Delete the wrong entries first.
HOWEVER after I got assigned the axis correctly I had the problem that the brake would be constantly applied and i could not take off because of that. To solve that you have to play with the settings in FSX (check the box next to brakes) and calibrate your rudder/brake in windows via the saitek driver.

Hope I could help.
Back to top
matt_flyaway
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2009
Posts: 79
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 5:35 pm 

I have gone through all those steps already. Now the problem I have is that the drivers fail every time I open the saitek software. I have escalated my problem to saitek tech support. so far they have been no help either. I am feeling very discouraged. I thought they were top of the line products.
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:13 pm 

Ah, that sucks. But what is happening exactly? The driver software crashes and therefore you are unable to calibrate the rudder? Are you or have you been able to actually fly using the rudder?

I assume you already tried downloading the latest driver right? Because the ones that come with the CD are outdatet and rubbish (at least that's what i've been told).

As for windows and driver problems there is always so many things that influence each other. Hard to tell what exactly causes the problem.
For me, i am using a Win 7 Ultimate PC just for FSX and i am not using any other hardware besides the monitor and saitek yoke and rudder, but still i had to install several times until everything worked as it should. But I've been happy ever since and it's pure joy to fly with those, so it's definitly worth the tweaking and fiddeling.
Back to top
matt_flyaway
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2009
Posts: 79
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 9:07 pm 

I downloaded all software off the CD that came with the rudder pedals. I will have to try and download current drivers from saitek’s website.

As of right now I have reconfigured all controls and button commands so they all work the right way. When i go into the airplane, the actual rudder is stuck in the full left position. If i even slightly tap the right rudder pedal it moves to the full right position. There is no in between. I am convinced this is a calibration issue. In FSX i calibrate the pedals and it shows to be working fine. YA not so much! HELP???
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 9:22 pm 

First you should really try to install current saitek drivers from their homepage. Uninstall the current drivers first and unplug the rudder and the yoke. Then install the latest drivers. This might/should enable you to callibrate the rudders properly. If not, then let's work out another solution. Hang in there, we're gonna nail this one Wink
What is your OS by the way?
Back to top
matt_flyaway
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2009
Posts: 79
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:45 pm 

I am going to try your suggestion right now. I'll let you know how that goes.

I am running windows 7 32 bit
Back to top
matt_flyaway
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2009
Posts: 79
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:17 am 

yea that didnt work either. are you able to send me screenshots of your FSX settings so I can compare. All calibration is working fine.
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:26 am 

ok, i will try to post some screenshots tomorrow. gn8 for now Smile
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 7:40 am 

Good Morning,

okay pics will follow up in a sec. First of all try to callibrate the rudder. There are two ways of doing that.
1. directly in FSX via settings-->calibrate tab-->calibrate button in upper right corner
2. in Windows--> System Control Panel--> Devices--> Saitek Rudder Pedals--> Right Click: Game Controler Settings
(names can vary because I am using german windows and fsx)

Try both methods, just in case. I remember now how I had to fiddle with those as well AND i encountered the same problem like you but I got rid of it just playing with the different settings and calibrating a few times until everything was fine. Working flawless ever since so I already had completly forgotten about that issue. Pics will follow.
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 7:47 am 

Correction:
1. Settings--> CONTROLS--> calibrate tab--> calibrate button (in case you could not find it)
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 7:50 am 

Back to top
matt_flyaway
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2009
Posts: 79
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:23 pm 

i have looked over all your settings and I am still stuck. It seems like there is a glitch somwhere with these pedals. Not sure what else to do.
Back to top
Rupert and Scamp
Guest





Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:44 pm 

Hey,

I'm surprised you are having issues with your pedals! I've set up three different sets for myself and friends and it all worked very easily.

Are you using the Saitek Yoke as well? I've always just plugged the rudder port into the yoke housing. I've never tried doing it any other way. However, I also have a Logitech Extreme 3D Pro joystick which I use with these rudder pedals.

When I fly a chopper or fighter, I just tell FSX to use the joystick AND the rudder pedals and it works fine. Of course the rudders are still plugged into the yoke body.

I'm wondering if the problem is not the hardware of your pedals instead of an adaptation issue?[img][/img]
Back to top
matt_flyaway
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2009
Posts: 79
Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:27 pm 

Thanks for all the help! I tried to start over this past weekend. I got my multi panel and radio panel for the holidays too so I reloaded all drivers and I am still having the same problem. It is so weird. I am going to call tech support and if that gets me no where I will be returning them. I just don't understand why when I do the calibrations in FSX and when using the device calibration, it looks to be working fine. HMMMMM
Back to top
MrBeagle
Guest





Posted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 4:05 am 

what did you ever find out regarding this problem? Im having the exact same problem! Even disconnected the rudders, and now its still stuck on left. Calibration seems fine. Went through all you suggested. Only difference with mine was it wasnt going right at all, just immediately and stuck at left, jerky and shaky. Couldnt ever correct it even a bit!
Back to top
MrBeagle
Guest





Posted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 4:42 am 

never mind! found the .xml file I needed to overwrite for the saitek yoke control that solved the problem! found it here...http://proflightsimulator.com/help-troubleshooting.htm#left_error
Back to top
matt_flyaway
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2009
Posts: 79
Posted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:08 pm 

glad you figured it out. I ended up returning mine because saitek never got back to me. I purchased the switch panel instead. Had problem with that as well so I uninstalled FSX and started over. Everything works fine now!
Back to top
flyenjewman
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 03, 2012
Posts: 2
Posted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:04 pm 

Hey guys,

I had a sim problem, I found that my rudder setting had very little null, which is the sesativity. when I adjusted that setting I was golden. enjoy my flight controls, there are so many little settings to make it my-own!
Back to top
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your free copy of Microsoft Flight?

Yes, I really enjoy playing it!
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with FSX
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004
No, X-Plane all the way!
...Microsoft what?

Votes 46644

Social

 
RSS Feed iPhone App
© Fly Away Simulation
Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us