Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

Windows 8 compatibility

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
driley5
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Apr 18, 2006
Posts: 2
Location: PA
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:05 am 

Will FSX be compatable with windows 8?
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 17666
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:55 am 

Yes, W8 is based on W7...no problems.
Some new features most of all a new GUI.

Radar
Back to top
driley5
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Apr 18, 2006
Posts: 2
Location: PA
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 3:04 am 

Thank you! i'm getting a great deal on windows 8 because of the date that I bought my laptop. $10. WOW
now all I have to worry about is my Adobe cs5 products
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 17666
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:06 am 

I don't see any program that works on W7 having problems with W8.
I think you get IE10 with it and if you have a touch screen monitor thats one of the new features, it also will work with a mouse of course.

Radar
Back to top
Abin Peter
Guest





Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:13 pm 

The installation gets aborted while installing from the second disk.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 17666
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:23 pm 

What OS are you overloading it on.

Radar
Back to top
Yuri Wilcox
Guest





Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:36 pm 

NO!!! before you do anything! FSX is NOT compatible with W8. I have had so man problems... it works for about 30 days and then it crashed in about 10-15 minutes into every flight... DONT get it. I am calling Microsoft now to complain and request an update for FSX. for now... don't get it.
UAL845
Back to top
Bryan Miller
Guest





Posted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:17 am 

please read this before posting!!!!!!!!! right click on short cut of fsx then go to properties go over to compatibility check where it says run this program in compatatibility mode for and go to the drop bar and choose windows 7. please enjoy.
Back to top
Osbourn
Guest





Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:00 pm 

I got FSX running on win 8 64 bit and its perfect. No need to install in compatability mode. Just install it. By the way theres a crash fix for win 8 running fsx. Go google it. Run a full malware scan, run ccleaner, clean out your startup except your AV.
Back to top
fattik
Guest





Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:55 pm 

Hello,

I also have a trouble with FSX in Windows 8.
While installing second disk; I receive 1722 coded error (Windows Installer).
in the end of setup.

I've tried so many solution ways to figure it out but made no sense till now. Is there anyone faced with same trouble so far? Please help me
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 17666
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:05 pm 

fattik wrote:
Hello,

I also have a trouble with FSX in Windows 8.
While installing second disk; I receive 1722 coded error (Windows Installer).
in the end of setup.

I've tried so many solution ways to figure it out but made no sense till now. Is there anyone faced with same trouble so far? Please help me


See if this helps.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928080

Radar
Back to top
Mack Feloza
Guest





Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:34 pm 

Will it work on 32 bit? Have it downloaded already just wondering if theres a way to fix it?
Back to top
Mike Feloza
Guest





Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:37 pm 

It just keeps lagging and I can't play with it lagging so much.
Back to top
Jacob Lynham
Guest





Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:45 am 

thanks guys it should now work but after getting my fist computer (windows Cool I couldn't run it... until now!!! but currently there is a message about missing scenery but I think that is just a coping issue...
Back to top
MiataMike
Guest





Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2013 6:42 pm 

my brand new FSX gold edition was loaded onto an external WD drive on AMD chip HP Envy M6 laptop. Ran fine, loaded Accelerator, ran fine, loaded megascenery and was not happy with performance. Thought was a good idea to buy exact duplicate external HD that was empty and use it just for FSX, scenery, hanger etc. Got the 1722 error very early in disc one. Thought was due to not having uninstalled from HD one (there is NO uninstaller so ran Puran Utilities force uninstaller), still error 1722. Then ran the noted kb928080 "license fix" in admin mode and showed was completed, still had 1722 error. Then ran in succession regcleaner and kb, then regcleaner and regedit and kb still 1722 error. Only "success" was went from failing early in disc 1 to failing at last step of disc2 which meant had to sit through entire load before finding out it failed.
IT DID RUN ON THIS LAPTOP AND IDENTICAL EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE PREVIOUSLY.... http://imagebucket.flyawaysimulation.com/images/wzLRC.jpg
http://imagebucket.flyawaysimulation.com/images/LsUk.jpg
Back to top
john mcc
Guest





Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:46 am 

had no luck installing fsx in w8 ,have today loaded windows 8.1 and fsx installed with no trouble yeeha Laughing
Back to top
Flyaway
Site Admin
Site Admin

Pro Member

Joined: Jun 28, 2003
Posts: 1295
Location: UK
Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:04 pm 

See our article here discussing the topic:
http://flyawaysimulation.com/news/4692/
Fly Away Simulation, Flight Sim #1
Back to top
John Wowzo
Guest





Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 4:25 am 

Just wondering if the reason why my views on the F-18 were shaded out and not so crisp was because of the possible Windows 8 compatibility issue? Was there a code I could throw into a file to sharpen this airframe? Thanks alot for your help.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 17666
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 7:23 am 

John Wowzo wrote:
Just wondering if the reason why my views on the F-18 were shaded out and not so crisp was because of the possible Windows 8 compatibility issue? Was there a code I could throw into a file to sharpen this airframe? Thanks alot for your help.


It could be your video card or it's drivers.
It could also be that you don't have enough ram.

Radar
Back to top
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your free copy of Microsoft Flight?

Yes, I really enjoy playing it!
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with FSX
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004
No, X-Plane all the way!
...Microsoft what?

Votes 40679

Social

 
RSS Feed iPhone App
© Fly Away Simulation
Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us