Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

OVERSPEED warning on FS2004 Jets

BRolland

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:44 am 

Is anyone else having problems with "Overspeed" warnings with the Jet Aircraft? I am new to FS2004 and all the Jets are doing it at al altitudes...even up to 39,000 feet.
mypilot
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:24 am 

What jet are you talking about. In most jets your airspeed can't exceed 340 knots. If you are at 39,000 feet your airspeed indicator will go to about 270 knots before giving an overspeed warning. If you look at your ground speed on your GPS it will read about 480 knots and 0.82 mach. Hope that helps. FAA (fedaral aircraft administration) rules tells you that you can't exceed 250 knots below 10,000 feet MSL.
originalgrunge
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:41 am 

To illustrate MyPilot's point, the next time you are in the default 737, look at the spedometer on the left side of the panel. You'll see the yellow bug showing what the MCP speed is set to, the needle to the speed you are actually traveling at, and a red and white warning band that shows what the "overspeed limit" will kick in at. If you notice, when you're on the ground it is set well up in the 300s, but after reaching cruising altitude, the white and red band will be at 260 something!
Guest Ed

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:43 am