Course or heading?

Pro Member Trainee
glen4cindy Trainee

I am still learning my flying on FS2004 using the autopilot.

I see that on some of the autopilots, there is COURSE and HEADING.

What is the difference?

Also, is the ILS needle the green pointer on the HSI? The aircraft I saw this one in particular is a Beechjet aircraft I believe. There is a green and a blue pointer on the HSI in addition to the white pointer and the dial of course.

Also, is the glidescope indicator the purple lines that are on the Horizion Indicator? I am trying to learn this, and have been reading about it, and trying to practice, practice, practice. I have taken a couple of the flight lessons but, that guy is too harsh. If go off just a bit and miss or don't get the aircraft lined up just right, he ends the lesson and tells me to come back when I am ready to listen.

Also, I don't remember this happening before, but, I am now using a Saitek X45 controller set, and it seems to work pretty well, except when I go to land, I cannot get the aircraft to stop! Even when I throttle down all the way, and put on the brakes, the aircraft wants to zoom around and I cannot get it to come to a stop. I also have to hold the stick all the way forward (not the throttle stick, the other one), or the aircraft tries to lift off again. I have tried calibration, but, that didn't help.

Thanks!

Answers 3 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member First Officer
PH First Officer

Without going into too much detail
Heading should be used whenever you want the AP to fly an assigned heading.
Course should be altered to the QDM - RW magnetic heading for certain approaches. If the runway heading is 052*M then for an ILS approach you should set the figure in the course window to 052*. Also can be used for VOR tracking as this is changes selected to/from radial acts as OBS.