Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

Need assistance with flying............

Pro Member Trainee
glen4cindy Trainee

I've got 2 questions that I have been unable to find answers to.

I would like to program FS 2004 to fly between 2 short hops. Like, St. Louis to Chicago which is 45 minutes, or, even a recent flight that I made in real life on SW airlines. We flew from Ft. Lauderdale to Orlando. 26 minutes.
I would like to be able to watch FS fly itself from the takeoff roll to the landing roll to see how it operates the aircraft.

2nd,

I am very curious as to how you can tell how far you have been flying a certain heading so you will know when it's time to execute a turn.

I am not very good at flying at all. I have NO training at all, of any kind, but, I love aviation. The other day, I took off from an airport near Lambert in St. Louis MO, where I live. I flew all over the place, ended up seeing an airport, and flew a big circle around this airport, (though, I know it was not a proper "missed approach") and found myself "generally" lined up with the runway, and managed to touch down and stop and found by looking at the map that I was at Scott Air Force Base near Belleville, IL.

Where can I learn to actually fly an approach? I can read the direction bearing, but, I know there has to be more to it than that. There are a couple of airports that are very close here. Parks in Cahokia and Lambert, which would not allow any private traffic, as far as I am aware. These two airports use 12 and 30 as runways. Lambert 12 L and 12 R, 30 L and 30 R. Well, I know I cannot take off from parks, and fly 120 heading and end up at Lambert's approach for 12 runway because Lambert of off the the right as you take off from runway 12 at Parks.

Thanks for any help anyone can tell me.

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

You can "fly by the seat of your pants" using a compass (on screen) or the best way would be to take the free lessons that the Sim offers you.