SearchSearch 

MORE questions for those of us who are all-knowing!

Pro Member Trainee
deKoven Trainee

Okay, yesterday I flew down to Portland OR from Everett WA. Just a hop, skip and jump, so to speak. Since I'm still learning what all the s/w can do I tried a GPS flight. Entered Portland destination in the GPS and then turned on Autopilot. We proceeded south in a fine-ly manner except that I could not level the plane. I decided to just let it run and see what happened. When I got to Portland I was at 20,000 ft and I could NOT see exactly what would happen. I contacted Portland ATC and was given a runway (twenty-eight {won't display the number}). Well, I went into a large spiral slowly descending from 20,000 and finally just spiraled right into the ground.

Now here's the questions. Do I take it out of autopilot to land? Does Autopilot control flight altitude? Do I have "India", and what is it/that? ATC told me to "make right, runway 28R" which I interpreted to mean that if I had done correctly I should have turned right (but the runway is on my left) to go out to the descend position? I guess I thought the Autopilot would control everything, "Fly by wire, sort of".

Does all this make sense? Help is gratefully appreciated!

2 Responses

Pro Member First Officer
Arkydave First Officer

deKoven wrote:

Now here's the questions. Do I take it out of autopilot to land? Does Autopilot control flight altitude? Do I have "India", and what is it/that? ATC told me to "make right, runway 28R" which I interpreted to mean that if I had done correctly I should have turned right (but the runway is on my left) to go out to the descend position?