screen shots

Pro Member Trainee
flynflip Trainee

I'm new in the field of flight sims and I see and hear a lot about screen shots. Is it possible to take your own screen shots using fs9 software or is there something else that I need to perform this task.

Answers 6 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Trainee
Velocity_Boy Trainee

I just use the "print Screen" button on the keyboard.
The only problem with this method is that you can only store one shot, every time you press the button it will dump the last shot from the clip board and store the new one.
What I do is press ALt-Tab to get out of FS then open (or have open) a graphics application, and paste the shot straight in.
If you are not sure how to do that, try with MS Paint - that comes with windows - click on "edit", then "paste", the pic will open up for you.
You can keep alt tab'ing to keep checking out new screen shots till you get one worth working on, then you will probably need to do some jiggery pokery with it in a graphics app to get it to really shine.
If you want to get some nice shots..(of course you do) then you might like to use my technique which is to set the FS up for the job: Don't just snap away and hope for a killer shot, you will have to set the drivers on your graphics card for anti aliasing (2 times at least) and anisotropic filtering (8x is nice). Then in MS FlightSim, set the settings for real frame sapping results! Enable trilinear filtering and have the sliders set for what you would like if you had next years PC! And set the resolution to your desktop res.
The flying enjoyment will be non existent , I have a pretty sound system-xp2400, Radeon 9800pro and 1gig of ram, and my frame rates drop to something like 5-10 when I do this, but the screenies will look a heap better.