Fly Away Simulation

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

Turbulance

   
Author Message
davidmac1
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 04, 2006
Posts: 448
Location: Portree, Isle of Skye, Scotland
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 5:56 pm 

what is the best way to deal with turbulance in a light aircraft?
Back to top
99jolegg
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jun 26, 2004
Posts: 5424
Location: UK
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 6:09 pm 

I'm not too sure what you mean by deal with turbulence. Can you be a bit more specific?
Click below to support FSF:
Back to top
Solotwo
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 26, 2006
Posts: 1579
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 7:11 pm 

Fly through it until it goes away, that is if you're descending or ascending, if you're flight straight and level try ascending or descending 1000 or so feet, thats what I usually do.
Back to top
pilotwannabe
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 15, 2006
Posts: 2586
Location: A galaxy far far away
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 7:15 pm 

Turn seat belt sign on Wink
Back to top
JarJarBinks
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: May 13, 2005
Posts: 1335
Location: deep deep south georgia
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:32 pm 

how exactly do you turn it on?
"To Protect Life And Property"

GCFD: HQ STA. 1.
Rescue1, Squad1, Engine1, Ladder Tower1, Engine11

Airport STA. 5
ARFF Truck 5 Crash Fire Resc. 11 Engine 5
Back to top
SteveT
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 27, 2005
Posts: 1524
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:49 pm 

Some panels have buttons that can disable or turn on the seat belt sign. Also if you have FS Passengers, there is a command to turn it off or on manually or letting the air hostess to do it automatically, depending on what your settings are. Wink
Back to top
Greekman72
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jun 15, 2005
Posts: 7050
Location: Hellas
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 9:05 pm 

JarJarBinks wrote:
how exactly do you turn it on?


For FSPax CTRL+SHITF+B.
Back to top
lenin
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 07, 2005
Posts: 698
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 3:04 pm 

When I get turbulance I fly straight through the middle because it is fun and doesn't really affect huge aircraft.
Back to top
jeffb57
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 20, 2006
Posts: 271
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 8:21 pm 

to reduce turbulance, you can decrease power. that normally works for me
Back to top
mcmxl
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 20, 2005
Posts: 147
Location: Colorado
Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 1:23 am 

I suppose you could disable the turbulence Embarassed
Back to top
Greekman72
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jun 15, 2005
Posts: 7050
Location: Hellas
Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 3:52 pm 

mcmxl wrote:
I suppose you could disable the turbulence Embarassed


Yes you can but then why you have to fly???
Back to top
spitfiresrule
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: May 17, 2005
Posts: 231
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 9:10 pm 

Slow your aircraft down to its rough air penetration speed
Back to top
pilotguy44
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 05, 2005
Posts: 595
Location: New York (KSWF)
Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:24 pm 

..well if you get airsick, try and fly around the gusty air pocket.. but it will cost you time. Wink Laughing


eh.. but on a serious note.. fly straight through it, your average turbulence will do nothing more than make your ride a bit bumpier. Wink Cool

(and by average, I mean, not hurricane-force winds, lol Fear )
Ryan Finn
Commercial Pilot
ASEL/AMEL/IA Rated
CFII-A

"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads."
Back to top
Mc_GaNgStA
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 05, 2004
Posts: 365
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:52 pm 

If you're flying through turbulent areas, is it advisable to cruise high or low, cause I had a bad experience with this cause whilst flying the Boeing 737-400 default, I was reaching cruising altitude (FL330) when suddenly the speed started decreasing really fast due to winds and I stalled at that altitude and had to go back down to FL290 and maintain that. Was pretty annoying
Back to top
tiger7881
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 23, 2005
Posts: 826
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:49 pm 

well, to tell the truth, i am always try to slow down and its working, then about altitude u better go descent in 1000ft and, by the wayturn on the seatbell sign, and give the masks to the passnengers, that they wont feel bad lol. have a good voyage !!
Back to top
Taylor
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 23, 2005
Posts: 183
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:08 pm 

turbulence is fun!!!!!
GO TENNESSEE VOLS!!!!!
GO HAWAI'I WARRIORS!!!!!
Back to top
Greekman72
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jun 15, 2005
Posts: 7050
Location: Hellas
Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:21 pm 

Spam posts NOT Wink
Back to top
dannyboy2005
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Jul 02, 2005
Posts: 339
Location: Trampy Bedford, UK (Sh1t Hole)
Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 3:59 pm 

In the past i would have been non-aware that there was turbalance ahead, so i would have just flew through it. Now i have purchased AOG - COMMON WEATHER RADAR (Its a weather radar) i can detect turbalance, storms, ice and rain ahead and i can climb or descend. Its worth buying it.
Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics