Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

Newbie and confused..

Pro Member Trainee
Syracuse_Jim Trainee

Hi All,

I'm kind of new to FS9, but have run flight sims since FS1 on the C-64. I've been having a problem with the audio from ATC. I get the text just fine, but no audio.

I've rechecked the installation, made sure that my sounds were on and turned up, re-installed FS9, and even got a new sound card (Soundblaster Live 64 Bit), double checked that I did have a pilot voice selected, and installed "Edit Voicepak", thinking that might help...no joy.

Everything else works great...engine sounds, fly-by sounds, exterior sounds, just no ATC audio.

This is probably something really simple that I'm overlooking, but I guess I'm too close to it to see it.

Anyone have any suggestions of what I could try to correct this? Even without the ATC audio, I really like the sim a lot.

Any help will be greatly appreceiated.

Jim

Pro Member Chief Captain
Greekman72 Chief Captain

Welcome to Fly Away Syracuse_Jim 😀 👍

Have you check your Settings/Sound/Air Traffic Control (in FS settings) if its mute?

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

Welcome aboard!

If that's not it try these and see if they help with the ATC.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/177252/en-us

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/812394/en-us

Radar

Pro Member Chief Captain
tomthetank Chief Captain

😕 Strange,try the Sound page in settings and make sure the ATC slider is up

GM got there 1st 🙄

Pro Member Chief Captain
Tailhook Chief Captain

Syracuse_Jim wrote:

...and installed "Edit Voicepak", ...

Did it work before you installed Edit Voicepak?

Pro Member Trainee
Syracuse_Jim Trainee

Hi and thanks for the warm welcome. I'll try those links to MS support and see if they help.

Yep, I checked all the sliders and the set up in the settings and everything says it should be working...very odd! I probably installed FS during the wrong phase of the moon or something... 🙄 😉