Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

I NEED HELP!

   
Author Message
sk84baker
Guest





Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:08 pm 

i bought the game off of a friend, he gave me a burnt disk of all the same files that should be on the disk Crying or Very sad DISK 1, 2, 3, and 4. i click on setup in disk one and it doesnt start up, is there anyway to open the game manually or do i have to have the original disk. What size is the actual game file all together, just to see if i have all the files or same file size

THANKS[/quote]
Back to top
tomthetank
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 24, 2003
Posts: 3582
Location: Newport S/Wales
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:15 pm 

Shocked A copied disk OMG

Open it up and double click the file "set up" that sould get you going.......however I hope your mate has managed to over come the copy protection


Oops! Did'nt read it properly if clicking set up will not work then I think you are stuck with 4 cd coasters
Back to top
sk84baker
Guest





Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:20 pm 

i double click and it satrts to load, my computer starts to open then it shuts down, ive tried about 8 or 9 times in the past 5 mins
Back to top
tomthetank
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 24, 2003
Posts: 3582
Location: Newport S/Wales
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:27 pm 

Oops! Again
The setup file is 4.08mb
disk 1 614mb
2 339mb
3 319mb
4 629mb

hope it helps
Back to top
tomthetank
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 24, 2003
Posts: 3582
Location: Newport S/Wales
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:29 pm 

sk84baker wrote:
i double click and it satrts to load, my computer starts to open then it shuts down, ive tried about 8 or 9 times in the past 5 mins




Umm... It may not be the cd's,it may be your pc
How much ram do you have?
Back to top
sk8 4 baker
Guest





Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:37 pm 

im not sure how much ram i have but i have lots of GB left my computer is about a year old
Back to top
sk8 4 baker
Guest





Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:40 pm 

im pretty sure i know where the problem is, the disk four is only 40.0 KB Crying or Very sad
Back to top
sk8 4 baker
Guest





Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:42 pm 

im going to go to a store tonight and buy the actual disk, do you know anywhere cheap to buy the game (below $40) ive found places on the net but only ship to the US
Back to top
tomthetank
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 24, 2003
Posts: 3582
Location: Newport S/Wales
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:43 pm 

Very Happy Right click My Computer and select properties. On the pop up box will be the details of your pc
What does it say under computer?
Back to top
sk84baker
Guest





Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:46 pm 

480 MB or ram
Back to top
tomthetank
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 24, 2003
Posts: 3582
Location: Newport S/Wales
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:56 pm 

Umm... Thats an odd figure to have on a fairly new pc
Most pc's have sticks of 128mbs or 256mbs or even 512mbs but you seem to have a odd 16mbs in there Confused

I suspect a faulty stick of ram Crying or Very sad
Back to top
sk84baker
Guest





Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 10:06 pm 

i take it i have crappy ram, do you know any stores that would sell fs04 for cheap (below 40 bucks)?
Back to top
tomthetank
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 24, 2003
Posts: 3582
Location: Newport S/Wales
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 11:22 pm 

Sad Im in the UK (im guessing your the other side of the pond)so no I dont know any stores,but as always someone will come along soon with a few suggestions

Oh I got one.........ebay
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19173
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 11:45 pm 

sk84baker wrote:
i take it i have crappy ram, do you know any stores that would sell fs04 for cheap (below 40 bucks)?


Calgary, you will have to hunt the stores on the net for one. Most are selling it here (US) for about $25 U.S. right now.
I don't know which if our stores cross boarders. EBGames, Walmart,CompUSA.


Radar

Back to top
sk84baker
Guest





Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 12:03 am 

ive found one for 50 bucks but the mail in rebate is 25 bucks so i end up paying 25 thanks for all your help, one more thing, do we need to have a joystick for fs04
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19173
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 1:41 am 

sk84baker wrote:
ive found one for 50 bucks but the mail in rebate is 25 bucks so i end up paying 25 thanks for all your help, one more thing, do we need to have a joystick for fs04


You can operate the aircraft with the keyboard but it's much easier and more realistic when you use a joystick.
I would highly advise the use of one.
Glad you found it for a good price!

Radar

Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?


Votes 15439

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2018 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.