Fly Away Simulation

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

I'm feeling VERY angry!

   
Author Message
ceetee
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 30, 2005
Posts: 1625
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 9:55 am 

I’m feeling very frustrated right now.

After spending a whole lot of money buying and installing a new graphics card, I am experiencing the worst graphics I have ever seen displayed on my system.

Before hand, I had an nVIDIA Geforce FX 5600, which was fairly average. I was told by installing a the new nVIDIA Geforce NZ 6600 that “your graphics quality will increase by 200-300%”

Right now, I am getting a maximum of 8-10 fps, and during my previous flight, my fps were hovering at around 4-5fps, only going up as high as 8fps very briefly for a few seconds.

I am using EXACTLY the same setting as in fs2004 that I was using with my previous FX5600 card, and if anything my graphics quality has decreased by 200-300%

I have installed all the latest drivers available for my card, and scanned and removed any virus’ and spyware from my system. During my flight, I had all no other programs running except for ScreenHunter (which I always use), yet the jolts between each frame displayed on screen is atrocious.

To make matters worse, I switched “off” antialiasing on my graphics card control panel, and “on” in the sim to make FSNAV load faster, yet it only loads marginally faster than with the anitalisaing settings the other way round, still loads slower than my old FX 5600. I still get horrible flickering between every menu I switch between, and FSNAV still takes ages to load.

And before you advise me to just swap my 6600 with my old 5600, I need to tell you the worst issue of all. As I was told my graphics would improve “200-300%”, I went ahead and sold my my 5600, which has now gone off in the mail.

What the heck can I do? This is a disaster. Believe it or not, my FPS where this bad for leg #2 of my Long White Cloud tour! Was I sold a faulty gfx card, or is there someway I can fix this??
Back to top
meylan
Guest





Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 10:21 am 

sorry cheekytrolly i use ATI so dont know much about nvidia but if no ones knows on this forum (im sure somone will ) try this site

http://www.driverheaven.net/forum.php
Back to top
Wing-man
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 30, 2006
Posts: 511
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 11:52 am 

Hi Cheeky Wink I dont wish to offend you or anything, as this can be overlooked, but have you removed the old drivers Question I can't remember where from, I believe GM72 posted a link Question but there's a free utility for removing old drivers before installing new ones, it is known for them to conflict, just a thought. Wink

Why not give this a go.......
http://www.majorgeeks.com/NVIDIA_Forceware_32_Bit_2K-XP_d3294.html

or see if this tool works and then install your drivers again........
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Driver_Cleaner_Professional_d3214.html
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19235
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 3:26 pm 

Driver cleaner.
Clean them both out and start fresh.
Don't forget to disable your AV before loading the drivers then enable it again when your finished.

After they are loaded go to /Start/Run/ and type in "msconfig" (without the quotes) and test the video.



http://www.drivercleaner.net/professional.html

Radar

Back to top
Madbrit
Guest





Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 4:35 am 

cheekytrolly wrote:
I was told by installing a the new nVIDIA Geforce NZ 6600 that “your graphics quality will increase by 200-300%”


Was it someone at the store that told you that? If it was, take it back and ask for a refund saying that it was solely on the store emloyee's advice (and hopefully you know which one) that you purchased the card.

Alternatively it might just be a bad card. Say it's not working and ask for a replacement or a refund.

Other than that maybe someone else who has this card can let you into the secret for getting it to work with FS. What is the performance like in other applications, especially any video intensive apps?
Back to top
Solotwo
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Jan 26, 2006
Posts: 1579
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 4:46 am 

Can you guys give step by step instructions to uninstall and then reinstall drivers. I'm hoping if I do that it might solve my stressful encounters with FS. Smile

Like for instance, how do I disable my AV.

I'm just afraid I'm totally going to screw my computer up trying to do this. I already downloaded drivercleaner quite awhile ago but I chickened out. Wink
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19235
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:28 am 

Solotwo wrote:
Can you guys give step by step instructions to uninstall and then reinstall drivers. I'm hoping if I do that it might solve my stressful encounters with FS. Smile

Like for instance, how do I disable my AV.

I'm just afraid I'm totally going to screw my computer up trying to do this. I already downloaded drivercleaner quite awhile ago but I chickened out. Wink




Download the drivers that you need, I do it to the desktop.
Clean out the old drivers using the driver cleaner. (or just delete them in the control panels (add or remove programs, whichever you feel more comfortable with).
Delete the card in the device manager.
Reboot the computer.
Windows will find the card.
Shut down the AV by right clicking on the icon in the system tray (disable).
Load the drivers, reboot if it wants you to.
Right click on the AV again and enable it.
Go to Start/Run/ type in "msconfig" (without the quotes).
Use the test to see how the new drivers are working in the display tab.


Radar

Back to top
ceetee
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 30, 2005
Posts: 1625
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:41 am 

Right, I am going to do that now.

Can you first tell me what AV is ("Shut down the AV")
Back to top
Faucett
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: May 03, 2006
Posts: 805
Location: Missouri, USA
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 7:24 am 

I'm pretty sure he means anti-virus.

Best of luck, CT, sorry to hear of your troubles.

Remember, in a worst case scenario you can always save your important
stuff to an external HD, and then re-format your main HD.

Radio K.A.O.S.
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 8:35 am 

Madbrit wrote:
cheekytrolly wrote:
I was told by installing a the new nVIDIA Geforce NZ 6600 that “your graphics quality will increase by 200-300%”


Was it someone at the store that told you that? If it was, take it back and ask for a refund saying that it was solely on the store emloyee's advice (and hopefully you know which one) that you purchased the card.

Alternatively it might just be a bad card. Say it's not working and ask for a replacement or a refund.

Other than that maybe someone else who has this card can let you into the secret for getting it to work with FS. What is the performance like in other applications, especially any video intensive apps?


Generally speaking the new card should improve FPS as it is a better card. It is only right that someone selling you a better card would say it will improve FPS because it certainly should. That's in an ideal world and sometimes you will come across issues. That's computers.

NZ 6600? Never actually heard of that card? There's the 6600LE, 6600GT etc. Which one do you have?
Back to top
ceetee
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 30, 2005
Posts: 1625
Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 8:46 am 

I just went through the above process, and nothing has changed.

I have discovered that my motherboard is not 8x compatible, which I need in order to get better performance. I guess this was a mistake made by the guys at the computer shop, even though they knew what motherboard I had... oh well, that was a big waste of time.

I think I will give up simming for the time being, as I don't have enough time, money or patience to "resolve my problem", let alone restore my graphics to the previous state.

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
BashDabish
Guest





Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:11 am 

One more thing to try. Try adjusting the AGP aparture size in your bios. Set it to 256mb but definately no lower than 32mb. Experiment with it and it is a simple tweak that will cause no damage.

Good Luck
Back to top
BashDaBish
Guest





Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:13 am 

Oh and what motherboard is it? There may be a bios update for it.
Back to top
meylan
Guest





Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 11:32 am 

well i had set my AGP speed to x4 after it kept crashing on x8 but i havnt seen any visual drop but ive lost maybe 3fps thats all . keep searching
Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics