Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

Stalling at High Altitude

lucifer Guest

I am using FS2004 and am having trouble after reaching 15000 ft.
The plane pitches vertically, loses power and stalls. This happens with original default aircraft as well as addons. The simulator worked great when new, I have reinstalled but am still getting the problem with
jet airliners. I'm a novice, can anybody assist me.

Pro Member First Officer
jelami First Officer

That is odd, you should be able to fly most anything at that altitude. Are you sure you have the throttle and mixture right? Gear, flaps, air brakes, and tray tables in their upright and locked positions? Just kidding about the tray tables Laughing

Pro Member Chief Captain
tomthetank Chief Captain

8OAt what rate are you climbing?and in what aircraft(each aircraft has it own best climb rate )

Pro Member First Officer
leadfoot First Officer

Unless you are flying a turbo-charged piston engine craft most piston aircraft will start to poop out around 15000'. The Cessna's 172, 182 service ceiling is under 15000'. If you are flying a jet you are doing something wrong.

lucifer Guest

I am flying jet aircraft, particularly Learjet, Airbus A300 and Boeing 737,
I have adjusted rates of climb from 200ft to 3000ft and still get stalling
after reaching over 10000ft. Have tried with autopilot on and off and still
get the problem. Please, any other suggestions would be appreciated.

Pro Member Chief Captain
tomthetank Chief Captain

Shocked Ok You need to have your flaps set to 8 (1st notch)and 10-15 deg pitch nose up,then apply full power and rotate at about 130kias
Once you have positive climb get the landing gear up and the set flaps to up at about 200/210kias then climb at 2000 fpm at 250kias

Here is a page of check lists for a few planes,have a look Arrow

http://www.faatest.com/downloads/simchecklists/simchecklists.html

Once you are above 10000 increase speed and lower you climb rate to 1800fpm