Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

total newbie need help hardware, memory, program advice

I am hoping someone can help me to figure out if my computer can handle flight sim and train sim programs.

I have a four year old computer (Dell Dimension) that kids to use strictly for pc games. Here is what I found out about my system: OS - Windows XP, Processor Intel Pentium III 590 MHZ, Memory 254 MB Ram, Direct X version 9.0, Free space 6.68 GB, Intel 82810 Graphics Controller.

My 5yr old really wants flight and train simulator programs but I don't know if the system can handle it and what other components I should get (joystick, yoke, etc).

Since he is so young I don't need the latest and greatest but I'd like to get something good. I was looking at Microsoft 2002 or 2004 flight sim. Can I just buy the game and play or do I need a graphics card? Do I need a joystick or yoke and if so a USB connecting one?

Please help - I'm so confused.

Pro Member Trainee
crash_deplane Trainee

A 590 MHz Pentium III with only 256 MB of RAM isn't going to do much for Flight Simulator, even if you can scare up an old copy of FS 2000 or FS '98. You might be able to play FS 2000 at minimum resolution, but your RAM will be limiting you. Playing flight simulators on slow computers isn't fun; they are hard to control and visibility is poor because you have to turn the scenery way down. Even my 800 MHz Pentium III with 512 MB of RAM was pretty slow playing FS 2000. FS X will definitely not run on your computer, even if you have the necessary DVD-ROM drive.

Pro Member Chief Captain
Tailhook Chief Captain

Anonymous wrote:

I am hoping someone can help me to figure out if my computer can handle flight sim and train sim programs.