Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

Wait or Start Anew?

Pro Member Trainee
lydhndrxca Trainee

Hey guys, i had a post before about building a new pc. One that can handle FSX. I was going to throw about 2 grand into it... good processor, 2 x1950 xtx in Crossfire or 2 GeForce running SLI, blah blah blah.

Then I got to thinking, thats alot of money to be throwing at some cards and processor that will be outdated in just a few months (with Direct3D 10, and quadcore?)

I understand everything in technology gets outdated, however im getting the sense that a big change is on the horizon. Like Vista will bring with it new extra superior technology that is Direct3D 10 and everything else it boasts. Im a realworld pilot, but not realworld computer saavy as you can tell.

What I'm struggling with is whether or not to build now, or wait. Is Vista and Direct3D 10 gfx cards going to be night and day better than $900 worth graphic cards available now? I just dont see what could be better in FSX with direct 10 than with directx 9.

Heres a link that confuses me... (hold mouse over picture)

http://www.istartedsomething.com/20060817/directx10-fabulous/

I know that picture is artist rendition, but what I dont understand is how is he/she even coming up with that image? Just because you have new technology, that doesnt mean you can grandfather new games into it and make them look better 10 fold? (you cant throw fs 98 into a top of the line computer nowadays and expect it to look like a different game) Correct me if im wrong, but thats what that picture looks like, and thats what I hear from other people.

So anyway, im done with my novel, but id appreciate some input.

and again, sorry if i sound ignorant and incredibly under-educated when it comes to computers!

(cause i am) Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Shocked Very Happy

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain