still trying to figure out how to get those perfect landings

new simmer Guest

I hope some pne can help me again......

You know when you are approaching an airport to make a landing ....ATC acually guides you in and usually instruct you to go down most of the time to 2300 feet.......well that kinda makes it hard to pick up the glide slope.....while making an ILS landing ...especially that I am new at this and this is the only way I can land.......please tell me...what is the ideal altitude and speed before you pick up ILS to guide you in.......

Thanks so much
Sam

Answers 8 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Trainee
Scott Archbold (Scotteiboi) Trainee

I come in at about 2600-3300 feet....look at the elevation, then judge your landing. 😀

Pro Member Captain
WarHawk42 Captain

new simmer wrote:

I hope some pne can help me again......

You know when you are approaching an airport to make a landing ....ATC acually guides you in and usually instruct you to go down most of the time to 2300 feet.......well that kinda makes it hard to pick up the glide slope.....while making an ILS landing ...especially that I am new at this and this is the only way I can land.......please tell me...what is the ideal altitude and speed before you pick up ILS to guide you in.......

Thanks so much
Sam

What plane are you flying?

A rule of thumb is to get the end of the runway lined up in your site and keep it constant in your view. If the end of the
runway starts to disappear under the nose of your plane you are coming in too high. If it moves towards the top of your view
you are coming in too steep.

Simply put fly towards the end of the runway and try to keep it constant.

new simmer Guest

thank you folks......I am flying the b737....and I am gonna try and do it now ......thanks again

Pro Member First Officer
Paiute First Officer