Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

FSX not performing well.. Please help! Newbie

Pro Member First Officer
Michaelvg1 First Officer

Hello everyone. I am a newbie.
I just picked up FSX this weekend and having a blast. I have always been a fan of aviation and been flying large scale RC planes for many years. I knew I could never use FSX with my old computer so I waited till the perfect time and recently purchased a HP.. I got a great deal through my company.

I customized it with the following:
HP Pavilion Slimline s7700y series
Windows vista home premium
Intel core 2 duo processor T5200 (1.6GHz)
1GB
250 Gig Hard drive
lightscribe DVD
128MB NVIDIA Gforce 7350LE

I hope this is enough info for you to give me a recommendation...

I have not changed anything on the system and immediately began using FSX. It's great except for the following.

1. Sometimes it pauses for a second or two, sound stays on, and then resumes.
2. When I switch views it takes a while. Sometimes the screen is blank and the image ❓ finally appears....
3. I guess the performance is not all what I expected.

Am I asking for too much? I thought I got a really good system to handle such a simulator...

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Do I need to change the vid card settings within the system? Is there anything to change on the program itself? OR should I just call HP and ask them?

Thanks
Michael

24 Responses

Pro Member First Officer
GoodisonBlue First Officer

FSX has very high demands unfortunatly

Ideally, you need a 512mb graphics card as minimum and 2GB ram

Pro Member First Officer
Michaelvg1 First Officer

OK. Thanks...
I'm not about to send this thing back to HP and wait a month for them to return it. I don't have the old computer anymore. If I have to spend some extra money I will. I guess my question is whether or not this is easy to do. HP has instructions for the Desktop on line. I guess I can go buy a more powerful card for now....