hardware

Hello I am new to FS2004 and would like some ideas as to PC hardware that would be required.I currently have it installed on my Toshiba M70 with 1.7ghz centrino mobile and ATI mobility radeon X600 SE and 1gb of ddr 533mghz ram but when running 2004 it is not very smooth.Any sugestions would be much appreciated.Regards CB

Answers 2 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

Anonymous wrote:

Hello I am new to FS2004 and would like some ideas as to PC hardware that would be required.I currently have it installed on my Toshiba M70 with 1.7ghz centrino mobile and ATI mobility radeon X600 SE and 1gb of ddr 533mghz ram but when running 2004 it is not very smooth.Any sugestions would be much appreciated.Regards CB

Your CPU is basic and the card isn't the best, most laptops aren't built for FS9.You can turn off shadows, lower traffic, simple clouds, lower the water, textures and scenery.
Flying over cities and at airports will cause the most problems, keep to the unpopulated areas, Alaska is very nice.

Using this will help https://flyawaysimulation.com/downloads/files/2948/fsautostart-v11/ and defrag once a week.

Radar

Pro Member Trainee
P14u2nv Trainee

I have installed FS9 with the patch on a Toshiba Satellite A105, 1.7cpu, ATI on board XPRESS 200M graphics and 1.5 G ram. OS is XP Home. I have installed mesh for most of the NE, Mega-Scenery NY and several light scenery upgrades for JFK, LaGuardia, Republic, etc. I have also installed many aircraft. Scenery is a hit and miss concerning frame rates. The key to getting close to 18-20 fps as I do is two programs that are freeware;

CachemanXP which will alleviate many latent programs still in memory

and

FSAutoStart which will turn off ALL programs that YOU decide you don't need to operate your flight sims. You will have to manually go through each program etc and turn them off when you use FSAutoStart.