Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

GA aircraft at high elevation

guest Guest

Does anyone have a link to any articles regarding flying at higher elevations? When flying out of Denver or mountain airports, i can't seem to gain altitude. I know this is due to the thinner air but does anyone have any tips on flying GA at higher elevations?

PH Guest

All aircraft have a service ceiling and an absolute ceiling. At this altitude (absolute) it is impossible to get a +ROC. What a/c is it you are trying to use? Only advice is to slap a turbocharger on it!!

guest Guest

I am trying to fly a C172 or 182, and i don't think that exceeds ceiling.

Pro Member First Officer
Elkinallen First Officer

I was a Mountain flying instructor pilot in Salt lake for 4 years.

It's all about Density altitude. Like if you were trying to breathe on top of Mt. Everest. The plane doesn't have enough air to breathe to get full power. AND your true airspeed has to be HIGHER (Indicated allways stays the same).

Even Super/turbocharged planes cannot perform as well, better! But not the same as at SL. The air effects -thin air- the propeller, wings and and.

I'll help more with other than Einstein answers if you wish?!?!

guest Guest

I somewhat understand density altitude and how if affects the performance of the aircraft, i gues what i was wondering is are there any tutorials or articles that could help me learn to handle the A/C at higher altitudes.

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

guest wrote:

I somewhat understand density altitude and how if affects the performance of the aircraft, i gues what i was wondering is are there any tutorials or articles that could help me learn to handle the A/C at higher altitudes.

See if this will help.

http://www.canyonflying.com/lightenup.html

Radar

Pro Member First Officer
leadfoot First Officer