Autopilot, perfect landings and flying the plane

Pro Member Trainee
kaz01007 Trainee

I often see either movies or screenshots of absolutely perfect (to my still inexperienced eyes) landings. Right on the dime and in the middle of the runway.

For those hitting the mark every time, I’d like to know more about you. Are you using autopilot? If so at what point do you disengage? Are you a real, licensed pilot? How many hours do you have on FS or live?

I have 25 landings (at 10 airports, or so my rewards tell me) at about 10 hours in FSX and don’t use autopilot to line up landings. I only use autopilot at altitude in straight and level flight if there is a cross wind and I have trouble keeping my heading. I also don’t fly long flights. I use the Beechcraft Baron 58 for short haul (*under 1 hour) as I am still learning.

My feeling is that I want to FLY the airplane, not watch the computer fly it…although that’s an interesting philosophical topic…using a computer to watch the computer fly the plane…u 😳 gh too early in the morning.

Answers 9 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Trainee
JG3Bulldog Trainee

Here is a link that nicely explains how to use the NAV for ILS landings.

I switch AP off at around 500 feet.

Pro Member Chief Captain
CRJCapt Chief Captain

I'm like you, I like to fly the aircraft myself instead of watching the computer fly. Let me correct a few misconceptions. The ILS is not designed to and will not land the aircraft. There is one exception that I will speak on in a moment.