Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

A few quick questions for you real-world pilots out there...

Pro Member Trainee
scudder Trainee

Ok, so I've been using FlightSim for several years now (started with FS2002 in 2003 or so), and now that I'm a member of this forum I have a few nagging questions relating to how things actually happen in the real world vs. the sim:

1) In the 747 at cruising altitude, I tend to stay at about 5 deg nose up pitch, even in straight and level flight. Is this realistic, or just my flying?

2) On trans-atlantic flights, is there a point where you lose radio contact? (due to the fact that there are no centers in the middle of the ocean!) I've noticed the sim simply stops handoffs after a certain point for IFR flights until you're closer to your destination continent, but you can always talk to the last center that handled you on your way out to sea. I assume this isn't realistic, how does it work in real life?

3) I'm sure this is a complex question, but is it typical for a jet (say the 747 or Learjet) to cruise at close to the Vmo specified in the ref tab, or do they realistically cruise at slower speeds?

Thanks for letting me pick your brains, hopefully this forum will make me smarter so I can return the favor someday. Very Happy

Pro Member Chief Captain
Jonathan (99jolegg) Chief Captain

scudder wrote:

1) In the 747 at cruising altitude, I tend to stay at about 5 deg nose up pitch, even in straight and level flight. Is this realistic, or just my flying?

Entirely realistic. Commercial airliners are heavy chunks of metal flying at an altitude with little resistance to support the airframe so a few degrees pitch up attitude is necessary to maintain level flight.

scudder wrote: