Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

Water takeoffs

Pro Member Trainee
gator2 Trainee

I am new to FS2004 - How do you setup for water takeoffs and landings. Shocked

Pro Member Chief Captain
Alex (Fire_Emblem_Master) Chief Captain

First, you have to have the Cessna caravan Amphibian. THere's some water airports, but good luck finding them. All you have to do is take off, rause the gear, and land in the water. Its just like on land, except that you flair a bit more to keep the front ends of the floats out of the water. When you land, you can use SHIFT+W for water Rudders to steer, when you want to take off, SHIFT+W again, then full power. Flaps should be at i think 2 notches (Hit F7 2x) then just go like a normal takeoff.

Pro Member Trainee
gator2 Trainee

Thanks, I couldn't find a way to put the airplane in the water! I will look for the water airports. I like to fly out of Key West Florida but couldn't find a way to place the plane in the water.

Pro Member Chief Captain
Alex (Fire_Emblem_Master) Chief Captain

no problem. Others may tell you to "slew" out there, that works, but you can also start in a airport, go to the map screen, and drag the little aircraft icon out to sea.

Pro Member Chief Captain
Chris102 Chief Captain

My all-time favorite water airport is New York Seaports Inc. In NYC.

Guest Ed Guest