Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

Problems Running Both Fraps and FS2004

   
Author Message
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:54 pm 

My problem is that I want to use Fraps on FS2004. Fraps works on Windows 7 but not on XP, and FS2004 works on XP but not on Windows 7.

I purchased Fraps because it said it was suitable for Windows 8.1 / Windows 8 / Windows 7 / Vista / XP both 32 and 64 bit

It works fine with FSX on Windows 7 but I prefer FS2004 and I cannot run FS2004 on Windows 7 because it says I need administrators privileges even though I am logged in as the administrator. Clicking on run as administrator does not help either.

When I try installing Fraps on XP it does not run, instead I get a message saying C:\Fraps\fraps.exe is not a valid Win32 application. I have tried it on both XP Home and XP Pro, and using both 32bit and 64bit versions all with the same result.

Can anyone help me get over these problems so I can either run Fraps on XP or FS2004 on Windows 7.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19222
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:14 am 

If you don't have the latest version (Free and available here) then try it.
If you do have it then contact them, here also.

http://www.fraps.com/contact.php

Radar

Back to top
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:14 am 

Mine is the latest version of Fraps and thinking that the download might be corrupted I even downloaded it from a different site.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19222
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 3:28 am 

1up2down wrote:
Mine is the latest version of Fraps and thinking that the download might be corrupted I even downloaded it from a different site.


Try it from the manufacturers site and as I said if it doesn't make it they should be able to help.
It's been around a long time and they have probably seen everything.


Radar

Back to top
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 10:38 am 

I have already contacted Fraps about this problem and waiting to hear from them.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19222
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:07 pm 

Great, let us know how it works out.

Radar

Back to top
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:56 am 

This was Fraps reply and I am happy to say that it worked.

Thanks for your message. Our developers are currently investigating this problem and we hope to have a fix included in the next update. In the meantime you will be able to work around the problem by installing the previous 3.5.9 version of Fraps which can be downloaded directly from the following link:

Thank you
Back to top
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:46 am 

Unfortunately although the earlier version of Fraps works on XP, unlike the latest version on 7 it picks up sounds from my web cam mic, and as that did not come with an installation disk the mic cannot be disabled. So for now I am stuck with having to unplug the web cam whenever I want to use Fraps.

Still following the same advice, I can always contact Logitech to see if they can come up with an answer.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19222
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 4:22 pm 

They answered with a partial solution and you are taking it from there.
Nice company to help so quickly.
Thanks for the update.

Radar

Back to top
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:21 pm 

I managed to download the software for my web cam but it did not help because there was no setting to disable the mic. Besides, the problem has nothing to do with the web cam. When I unplug the web cam this version of Fraps records no sound at all.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19222
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:35 am 

I guess you'll have to wait for the "fix" that will be coming from Fraps sometime in the future.
At least you have something now, it's a problem getting these companies to work together.

Radar

Back to top
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:26 pm 

I have heard from Fraps again and I do not think they will ever have a solution to the problem. Lets face it, they are not going to waste time trying to make one of their older versions run on a redundant operating system like XP. So what I am stuck with trying to find a way of making my XP operating system work with Fraps.

As far as I can tell, Fraps only detects 2 audio inputs
Stereo Mix (VIA HD Audio Input) and Microphone (VIA HD Audio Input)
Stereo Mix (VIA HD Audio Input) is the one I should be using, the only trouble is that I do not have Stereo Mix on my XP, and a Google search only came up with one result on how I could get it.

Trouble is trying to follow their instructions is impossible because its like as though they have a totally different XP to me and telling me to do things like click on something I do not have. Mind you, I have noticed the same thing when trying to solve problems on Windows 7.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19222
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:21 pm 

Back to top
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:47 am 

I have now tried several of the older versions of Fraps right down to 1.9D but I believe all Fraps were designed to run on XP before Microsoft removed its Stereo Mix Drivers or at least that is what a Google search comes up with.

True or not I have come to the conclusion that the easiest way around the problem is try and get FS2004 to run on Windows 7. Others say they have no problem running FS2004 to run on Windows 7 so I am sure there must be some way I can.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19222
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 3:53 am 

I know of quite a few people running 2004 on W7 (me included) and on W10.
If the old attempt is fully cleaned out per MS instructions another attempt should be made.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/888846

The registry deletion is the part that most screw up.

You can try this, I have never used it...free version.

http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_uninstaller_free_download.html




Radar

Back to top
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 5:52 pm 

Your lucky, I have tried FS9 on both 7 and 10 without any luck. But I will try what you suggest and uninstall FS9 completely before reinstalling it.

I have also been experimenting with alternative programs to Fraps but most of them like Fraps only records sound from a microphone. Either that or they are too complicated for me to use. I will keep trying though because I much prefer XP to all the other operating systems. Although I am well aware that I will have to move on one day. If not I would still be running my old Windows 95.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19222
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:21 pm 

I loved XP but now it's a disaster waiting to happen.
With no security patches for such a long time your going to get hacked.
The only one I avoided was 8, I had 7 and went to 10 now my new machine came with 10.
I haven't loaded FSX yet but will soon.
Don't wait too long or they will charge for it, I think they start charging for 10 next June or July.

Radar

Back to top
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:03 pm 

I already have 10 but using 7 for my FSX and Fraps. But like I said from the start, I prefer FS9.
Back to top
1up2down
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Feb 23, 2006
Posts: 54
Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 2:35 pm 

OK problem solved. Not being a computer guru I have no idea what made the difference, I just decided to experiment while doing a clean install of Windows 7. I did a clean install of Windows 7 making sure I was recognised as the administrator by creating a password.

After the installation, before installing anything else including motherboard and GPU drivers, I installed FS9. When I clicked on run now it did not ask me to log on as the administrator but would not run because of the missing GPU driver. After installing both the motherboard and GPU drivers, FS9 run as normal.

My guess is that it was creating the password during the clean installation that must have made the difference.

So now, after completing the installation including all the Windows updates, and creating an image, I am going to update it to Windows 10 to see if FS9 runs normally on that too.

Thanks to everyone for trying to help me anyway.
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19222
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 4:13 pm 

Great to hear!
Good flying to you!

Radar

Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?


Votes 15441

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2018 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.