FS'04 - Newby Question about Rudder ...

Pro Member Trainee
bsamson Trainee

I am new to both FS'04, and Flying. Please keep that in mind 🙂. Here's the situation. When I am on the runway for take off, I give it full throttle the plan always runs off the runaway before I am at full speed. After a bit of reading, I believe real pilots use the rudder for control on the ground. Now, I am using a Logitech X3D. It has a 'handle twist' that sticks. This is assigned to the rudder control in FS'04 Settings. So obviously I was running off the runaway with that issue. So I went ahead and assigned the rudder left to right controls to the keyboard. The only issue I am running into now is that when my plane veers off in either direction, I counter that by hitting the opposite rudder button, but it always goes WAY off in the other direction. Once this process starts I am unable to control the plane w/o letting off the throttle. Please how can I fix this. Thanks!

Answers 3 Answers

Jump to latest
DonWood Guest

I have the same joy stick and the twist rudder control works fine at the default settings. I expect you are having the same problem I did when I first started using it - overcontrol. It takes a fine touch to taxi or takeoff in a straight line. I suggest you practice taxing along a straight line until you get a feel for how much control movement is necessary.