Landing long flights?

Pro Member Trainee
thorpeclassp Trainee

Hello, I am new to FS2004, and I tried reading about this in the learning center, but that was no help.

When I pick a flight from the flight planner, what is the procedure to get there? Usually I just climb to an elevation out of the runway, and press the autopilot master key, and the NAV button, and I found that it flys there on its own.

But: when I get there it flys right over the airport. Here are a few questions I have, thanks alot:

1. What do I do when i get near the airport? Do I lower the elevation? Is there a way to have the NAV to guide me to the runway?

2. When I get to the airport, do I have to manually turn the airplane around and fix myself up with the runway?

3. What is the glide scope, and how do I get into it? -- (assuming that I have used the nav autopilot to fly me there)

4. Whats the difference between using the radio to line up with the runway, or the NAV? And how???

5. In the flight planner, it gives you 2 options: VFR, and IFR. whats the difference between the 2?

6. Last question: WHen I choose a flight, it has me on the runway. In what cases do you have to taxi to the runway? ---- When I land the airplane, where do I taxi to?

Thanks alot for your help

Answers 10 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
Alex (Fire_Emblem_Master) Chief Captain

This should do some good, I guess others can take it from here.

THIS IS FOR IFR FLIGHT!