Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

ILS Approches / Runway headings!

Pro Member Trainee
Grant319 Trainee

I need some help. How do you use ANY approach feature? I don't know what an ILS is, and what the other approach is. I have a hard time figuring out which way the runway is facing, and how to land accurately. I never get clearance and I always do it wrong. Is there a way to autopilot in? I'm new to simulator, so you may have to start from the beginning! Anyway, also, ATC is always stating "Altitude 2996." What does this mean? They say it all the time, no matter my actual altitude.

Pro Member Chief Captain
Matthew Shope (mypilot) Chief Captain

This was an earlier post on the subject you are looking for. https://forum.flyawaysimulation.com/forum/topic/4347/for-fem/

Pro Member First Officer
Michael_H First Officer

Grant.

I need some help. How do you use ANY approach feature? I don't know what an ILS is, and what the other approach is. I have a hard time figuring out which way the runway is facing, and how to land accurately. I never get clearance and I always do it wrong. Is there a way to autopilot in? I'm new to simulator, so you may have to start from the beginning! Anyway, also, ATC is always stating "Altitude 2996." What does this mean? They say it all the time, no matter my actual altitude.

I think you should maybe review some of the articles in the Learning section.

first, ATC is not telling you your altitude is 2996. What you are hearing is the barometric pressure in inches of mercury.
ATC will say 'Altimeter 29.92

Once you read a bit, and you understand how to use the AutoPilot you can try flying IFR flight plans. Then, like FEM mentioned in his howto, you can let ATC vector you in to where you get established on the localizer and then use your instruments and AutoPilot to guide your airplane down to the runway...

It's a flight simulator, not MechWorrior....
It takes some reading and it takes a lot of practice... Read