Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

some questions on VA

I am kinda new to FS9, and was thinking of joining a VA. But I have some questions. First, I am not the worlds greatest Pilot, but I can fly, Second, I can't afford to pay a fee just to fly a Plane, so I am kinda looking for a free one, and third if there is a good one, will they let me fly where I want. I live about 2 Hrs south of Portland Int(KPDX), but i want to do the Northwest, and flights to Alaska as well as San Francisco(KSFO). anyone know of any, or should I just make my own? and If i need to make my own I need a painter that willing to do freebies, and thank you for any input

---
New to FS04

Pro Member Captain
John Hodges (originalgrunge) Captain

There are very few virtual airlines that charge for their uses. I find that flying with VA's really improves the quality of your flying, its regularity in your schedule, and your sense of community and purpose in flying.

I use UVA (United Virtual Airlines). They are a superb airline that currently uses most (not all yet) of United's real world schedules, and even has some former UA pilots flying with them. I've grown in leaps and bounds with them, and found that their flight reservation and filing is very easy. Like most airlines you start flying small regional jets (yes anywhere you'd like, but usually based from a HUB), and then pass checkrides to move up in equipment rating. As you fly more hours, your rank within that rating moves up as well.

You'll find that many of the VA's reccomend on-line flying as part of flying for them. Although UVA does reccomend it, I fly very few of my flights on-line, but it does add to the level of realism. But I'll let whatever VA you sign up for explain the wonders of VATSIM and the person-operated air traffic controlers.