Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

Quick/Easy Instrument Question

Pro Member First Officer
Greg (FL050) First Officer

Well, I am new to FS2004, like some others and had a quick question about the ILS.

I was trying to hit an ILS approach, so I tuned up the ILS freq. for my NAV1 radio and hit the " <-> " button to switch the freq. from Standby to Active. After doing this should the ILS needles appear and start to move the closer I get to the airport? If so, from what I understand, I never had a GlideScope on my Horizontal Situation Indicator. So my guess is I didn't intercept the GlideScope but I ended up landing and never intercepting it.

So, how do you know if you intercept it or where it is at to intercept it?

Also, Im in a jet, and since there is no VOR/NAV window like the VORs have in Cessna's, what colors represent what on the HSI?

Sorry for the easy questions, I just would like some answers because I have been getting mad trying to figure this out 😉

Pro Member Chief Captain
tomthetank Chief Captain

If you are using autopilot,it will dissengage the heading and altitude lights once it has captured the ILS

You should see a magenta bar on the HSI and a small magenta triangle for the altitude
Fs like you to capture the ILS from below,ie you fly level under the ILS untill capture

If your heading towards the ILS beam from an angle,the bar will move as you near the GS

Pro Member First Officer
leadfoot First Officer