Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

REVERSE

Pro Member Trainee
Andrew Sexton (andrewsexton) Trainee

Hi,

How do I get the 747 to reverse on taxi?

Andrew

Pro Member Chief Captain
Alex (Fire_Emblem_Master) Chief Captain

The down and dirty of it is this: You don't. No plane is meant to be able to back up on it's own power. Some do, however, MD-88's can. It's dangerous because it can suck in junk like cardboard, chickens, late 60's folk bands, and other debris.

You CAN however backup using SHIFT+P, or hit Y, and use the joystick to move the plane around.

Pro Member Trainee

Thanks for that i guessed that hehe.
Just got FS Traffic 2004 its supherb.
Andrew

Pro Member Chief Captain

That's awesome. I've got Ultimate Traffic and i think it's a blast. I've heard of your traffic program before, how's the density?

Pro Member Trainee

Good,

I find it hard to figure out how to taxi properly as I am a real beginner. Is there anyway you can show me remotly.

Thanks

Andrew

Pro Member Chief Captain

Not as of now. I can explain a bit more how to do it well.

Basically, to make it easier, i wouldn't recommend starting in the 747. I can understand you being anxious to fly the big stuff right away though. Try the 737 for a while, or better yet, the Learjet. But, on to taxi.

1. Keep slow, more than 28KIAS on a long and straight taxiway is dangerious

2. Don't exceed 12KIAS during turns, 8 is usually best

3. Use progressive taxi (Bring up ATC, after they give you clearance to taxi, you'll see a option like "Turn on progressive taxi" select taht, and follow the pink line.

Pro Member Chief Captain
Manuel Agustin Clausse (Agus0404) Chief Captain

I will add one more comment: the maximun taxi speed for most of the aircrafts is 20KIAS. As FEM said, taxiing more than 28KIAS is dangerous. So try not to exceed 20KIAS on straight taxiways.

Pro Member First Officer
Steve (megafoot) First Officer