Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

Newbie with Questions on Computer Hardware

Plus24 Guest

Hi,

This is my first post on this forum. I'm a private pilot who used to practice on an earlier version of FS when I was a student pilot. I haven't flown flight sims in quite awhile. I'm preparing to buy a new computer and could use some advice on components. This post is fairly long, but I wanted to be thorough and give you enough info to intelligently help me.

I already purchased Ch Yoke and rudder USB and lots of software from PC Aviator when they had their Memorial Day sale. All I need now is the computer.

I would like to keep the price around $1500 or less. I will be purchasing the parts from Directron in Houston (Directron.com) as they are right around the corner from my house. I know, I'll have to pay state tax but will have no shipping. I'm not a computer hardware techie so I want the convenience of a nearby store. They charge $39 to put the computer together for me and to burn and test everything.

To keep the price down, I've chosen to keep my old 17" CRT Monitor for a few months. I'll upgrade monitors later. That way I can get a more powerful computer now.

Below are the components I'm thinking about buying followed by my rationale for each:

Motherboard:

Asus ATX A8N-E, Socket 939, Dual DDR400, nForce4 Ultra, SATA RAID, PCI-E x16, PCI-E x1 & PCI-E x4, 8ch Audio w/S/PDIF Out. ds-sy.

I wanted PCI Express for obvious reasons. I've heard that ASUS is a good make and reliable. Comments?

CPU:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Socket 939 2.0 GHz 512 KB L2 Cache

I chose AMD because it is a little cheaper than Intel and is a 64 bit processor. I wanted an AMD with 1 Gb of L2 Cache, like the AMD 64-FX, but couldn't justify the difference in price of over $300. How big a difference will this make in MS Flight Simulator?

Memory:

Kingston HyperX, 1 Gb (512 Mb x2) PC3200 DIMM kit