looking to the future

crosscheck9 Guest

In about 2 years, I'm gonna have to start making a decision on what I want to be. For the past 4 years, I have looked to becoming an Airline transport pilot, however, there is not one member in my family who agrees with my decision. I understand there are some risks, for example, what if I get diabetes. What if I get asthma, or, what if I get sick of it.. (unlikely - 😂 ) There are a lot of if's involved, so, I need to find an alternative, but there isn't much that appeals to me. I figure I'll go to university, get a masters degree in aeronautical engineering, then go to flight school. I'll work my way up the ladder, then, when I'm to old, or something forces me to give up my job as a pilot, I'll become a flight instructer. Does that sound reasonable? Seriously, it's really a blow to one's self esteem when he gets no support for something he loves to do, and yet, I can relate to them. They don't have the same passion for flight as I do, and so they'll never learn to appreciate it, as much as I do.

Answers 10 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
Greekman72 Chief Captain

Dear Crosscheck.

I have to tell you that you MUST insist to make your dreams come true.This is the only way that you are going to be happy in your life.Sometimes the allaround people for a thousands of reasons try to persuade us to avoid some things...maybe cause they dont have the courage to make their dreams true...to fight for them ...to do sacrifises for earn them...or maybe cause they afraid for you cause they love you.
Although im sure that some day when they see that you are happy they will be happy too.Try to remain close to your dreams...fight for them and im sure that someday everybody around you gonna get that you were right.
You must remember that your life belongs to you and your choices are the guide to make you happy or sad.

We dont live FOR others...we live WITH others.

Greekman72 😉

Pro Member Chief Captain