Anonymous Localizers?

hutchinson Guest

Last night I was happily playing FS9, flying a Beechcraft King from LAX to Las Vegas, going from VOR to VOR. Vegas tower gave me clearance for runway 7R, and I went to find the localizer code on the airport page, but there was none listed! I went ahead and made a decent enough landing without the localizer, but still!

I noticed that only a couple of the several runways at LAS had localizer frequencies listed. Is there some way I should have deduced the localizer frequency?

Thanks.

Answers 6 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
Jonathan (99jolegg) Chief Captain

Not all runways at all airports have localizers just the ones that are listed. If the runway has a localizer frequency then it'll be listed. Choose a different runway if you want to use ILS 😉

hutchinson Guest

Okay, thanks. I'm still new at this stuff. I guess I've been lucky so far that my runways always had localizers before.

Pro Member Chief Captain
Jonathan (99jolegg) Chief Captain

No problem 👍

Don Wood Guest

In Sim and in real life, if you are on an IFR flight plan or request an IFR appoach in-flight, you will be positioned for and then cleared to whatever IFR appoach is in use at the current time at that airport. Some large airports may have more then one active approach. The real world clearance will sound something like: " Wifebeater 177, Las Vegas approach. You're cleared for the McCarren Rwy 7-left ILS approach, contact tower at the outer marker.". BTW-the NAV frequency for the ILS/DME 7L runway at McCarran is 110.3. The 7R ILS is 111.75.

If you are not IFR, approach will hand you off to the tower at the appropriate point and the tower will then clear you to land, without specifying a type of approach, to the active runway which may or may not have a published approach you can use to help with the landing.

Pro Member First Officer
Paiute First Officer