Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

ILS help!

rupps Guest

Hi! I am a total newbie to Flight Simulator, however, I'm really hooked into FS2004 and am completing the different flight lessons ... they may be useful someday if the pilot is unconscius Smile

Ok ... so yesterday I learned how to deal with ILS. Thing is, I don't know how to use it outside ILS lessons, that is, I use "create a flight", and program a flight from, let's say, Chino (California) to Ontario (California) -very short trip- with the CESSNA. I select "IFR flight". Ok. I can start flying, and radios often keep me bouncing from controller to controller. Moreover, ILS needles don't seem to spin, they're always centered. And sometimes the controllers order me to do weird things, like to climb 10,000 with the cessna, or turn into a weird route (checked in GPS)...

anybody help? I only want to do a simple ILS landing.

thanx in advance!

Pro Member Trainee
ronaldpatton Trainee

You need to enter the radio frequency of the ILS into the number 1 nav to get things to move. Airports with an ILS are shown on the GPS with a green arrow pointed toward the runway. Use the GPS to select KONT as your destination for example and then press the PROC key on the GPS and you can select the ILS approach you want. At Ontario, you will find the the ILS 08L and ILS 26R frequency is 109.7 and the ILS 26L is 111.35 Take the time to fly with Rod and do the ILS lessons. Then you can practice at Ontario. Also, do take the time to master the GPS. I (and many others) use the Reality XP Garnin530 GPS add on. It uses the Garmin simulator is exactly how they really work. Happy flying.

rupps Guest

That radio thing was definitely what I was missing... I thought the radios were using auto-tuning Smile I'll look forward to find the GPS add-on.

Thanks!!!!!

Pro Member Chief Captain
tomthetank Chief Captain