Possible Dumb Newbie Alert!

Hey Peeps,

Right, here is a strange one. I am trying to fly ILS from Heathrow to Liverpool (short and sweet) but I am finding that even though I am taking instructions on headings from the controllers on the ground, I am still not coming in-line with the runway, I am also using the GPS APP facility, but I am about a mile off course (I am on the right heading, just a mile to the left or the right)

Where am I going wrong? I am a newbie, so this question might seam a tad stupid to some peeps.

Ta
Leachus

Answers 6 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member First Officer
Andrew (AJWatson2209) First Officer

Thanks for the amazingly quick response.

Its a good posting, but it says that the ILS only gives me headings to the vectors, which I would have thought the APP would the take over?

Am I correct?

Pro Member First Officer
Andrew (AJWatson2209) First Officer

bud thats outta my hands now, i somehow end up on thr runway with no other planes near by so im ok 😛 sorry i cant help you more. someone else might tho.

Pro Member Chief Captain
Alex (Fire_Emblem_Master) Chief Captain

You have to make sure that you have the little toggle switch marked GPS/NAV switched to GPS in order to use a GPS approach, and if you want to use the ILS with the NAV 1 Radio, have the little switch pointing at the NAV part.

Pro Member Captain
Bindolaf Captain

Let me add a few quick notes, I apologize if you already know all this stuff:

When you want to fly from airport A to airport B IFR (Instrument Flight Rules, meaning "not looking at the ground at all"), there are a few distinct phases:

SID (Standard Instrument Departure): You can't just leave an airport and fly around. There are "roads in the sky" and the SID is your map to following a road from the runway to the exit point from the airport area. While flying an SID, you are usually in contact with Departure (or Approach/Departure).