Flight planning question for Level D 767 Owners

Pro Member First Officer
Steve (megafoot) First Officer

WHen programming the MCP i set up a flightplan to land at Airport-X runway-24L. (example)

Unfortuneately When i eventualy contact the tower at airport-X the runway i have programmed in isnt active and ATC wont give me approval to land there. I have made a secondary route to be able to switch a secondary runway so that i can get approval for landing but thats a pain in the arse.

I know i can switch runways in the MCP in flight but then i get a discontinuity in the flightplan and the computer goes stupid on me then I have to fly manually into the approved runway.

WHat I would like to know:

What should I do when switching runways for landing? is there some function in the MCP that I am missing to do this smoothly?

I pretty much fly to/from SID/STARS facilities so I want to incorporate it as much as i can into my flightplan. But Frankly I am still a newbie to using SIDS/STARS though I understand the basic concept.

How do I tell which STARS route to use without grabbing one that was intended for another runway if i have multipul choices?. (How do i tell which STARS route to grab?) and how can I inject that STARS approach into my current flightplan seamlessly so that i get no discontinuity?

Is SIDS/STARS even the answer to my problem?

[I mean a real world flight wouldnt be planned by the pilot calling the arrival tower and ask them which runway will you be using in X-hours when I get there? Nor by saying upon arrival "gee tower, I dont have that runway programmed in my MCP, you are going to have to open the one I want back up" ]

Answers 5 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Bindolaf Captain

Not specific to the 767, but a couple of pointers: