Fly Away Simulation
SearchSearch 

FMC

Pro Member Chief Captain
Tailhook Chief Captain

Two freeware FMC's have been mentioned not too long ago.

https://flyawaysimulation.com/downloads/files/3156/fs2004-simplefmc/

and:

(dead link removed)

As I'm new at this, which one would you suggest for a newbie and what do I actually use it for???

I do enjoy experimenting with new toys, so please enlighten me Unsure Read

Thanks, Rick

Pro Member Chief Captain
Manuel Agustin Clausse (Agus0404) Chief Captain

The first one is much simplier that the other one, but it's not that realistic. The second one is a very good FMC. I don't have it, but it looks very nice and realistic.

I'd suggest you to go for the first one. Then you can go for the other one. You can use those FMC to make your flights look more realistic and they also give you a lot of useful information.

Pro Member Chief Captain
Tailhook Chief Captain

Thanks Agus for the pointer,

I'll take your advice and try the simplefmc-1.2 to start with.

If time permits could you elaborate on the "...to make your flights look more realistic and they also give you a lot of useful information..." a little more?

I sure appreciate your effort 🙂)

Regards,
Rick Lee

Pro Member Chief Captain

Sure, Rick.

All jets have FMC's installed to calculate speeds, winds, to look at the waypoints, to choose SID's and STAR's for the climb and approach, to look for certain details about runways, navaids, and other stuff. This makes your flights look more realistic or in a professioanal way. Having the ability to choose a SID or a STAR is very realistic. The only problem is that you won't be able to follow it if you fly offline. Well, actually you can follow your SID or STAR but you have to disobey ATC.