SearchSearch 

Firewall question.

Pro Member Chief Captain
Greekman72 Chief Captain

At last and fortunately i have a new ADSL 512k connection at home and get rid of this slooooowwwwww dial-up 56k i use untill now.
I know that in comparison with a lot of you im still slow ,but for me its a huge difference,especially in downloads.

Anyway i would like to ask if you have to suggest me a decent Firewall protection.(freeware or payware,no matter).

Thanks in advance.

43 Responses

Pro Member Chief Captain
Insight Chief Captain

depends on how good you are with these things

The Windows XP SP2 firewall is actually quite good as it is

Or I like Black Ice

do not use norton it will hammer your machine

I think Zone alarm is a bit poop too

Also make sure you have good virus protection, www.avast.com has been better for me than any other virus app i have tried and its free!

Pro Member Chief Captain
Greekman72 Chief Captain

Well im not an expert but i like to learn... 😉

Im using Norton2005 as a virus protection(without firewall)and i use XPpro SP2.
I will download and check ''Avast'' when i get back home and tell you about it.
You put me in thoughts about ,if i had to let XPs firewall or get the Black ice you suggest.

Anyway thanks a lot for your reply. ❗
I was thinking asking from you a reward about Becky's vote 😂 (to be honest i have to wait till i get back at home in order to vote cause i dont want to put my office's mail there) but now i think that you pay me as well... 😉

Pro Member First Officer
KenTel First Officer

Well we all have our favourites. For me I've tried many in the past free and payware. Of the free stuff, I found Zone Alarm and AVG, to be my best choice. But now I use payware, and I'm very pleased with the one I'm using, BitDefender, it's an install and forget job, and I have found it to do all that is claimed. They also do an all in one, Firewall and Virus checker combined, which I'm thinking of upgrading to.

www.bitdefender.com