Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

Add-on files Location

   
Author Message
beroun
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 12, 2006
Posts: 115
Location: New York City
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 4:18 pm 

Hi,
I have almost 100 ad-on airports and other sceneries. All activated in FS2004 and all work OK.
BUT:
Can anyone let me know why some ad-on files are instructed to be installed in:
FS2004 root directory,
or in FS2004/Addon Scenery dorectory,
or in FS2004/Addon Scenery/Scenery directory?
.....or does it really matter? If it does not, can I consolidate some files as per countries or regions?
Any help would be much appreciated.
Many thanks
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19021
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 5:32 pm 

Always follow the read-me that comes with the add-on.
They have a reason to put whatever wherever, don't ask me why they know where it goes.

Radar

Back to top
beroun
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 12, 2006
Posts: 115
Location: New York City
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:00 pm 

Thanks,
Sometimes the instruction where to place the file is not there, so I usually put the file in Addon Scenery. In either case it would be great to know the logistics. Surely it is not so complex issue. Perhaps this might have an impact on scenery priorities in FS, just a thought?
Thanks again
Back to top
Tailhook
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 12, 2005
Posts: 8477
Location: El Dorado
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:43 am 

beroun wrote:
...can I consolidate some files as per countries or regions?


Yes, we can! Very Happy ...at least to a certain extend. Whenever you are told to install the scenery into the FS2004/Addon Scenery directory, you can create sub-directories within that directory.
I'll give you two examples - say you have new sceneries for Rome and Bangkok.

Inside your FS2004/Addon Scenery folder create a new folder and name it Europe. Inside your Europe folder create a new folder and name it Italy. Now place your new Rome scenery into the Italy folder and activate the scenery.
The only difference here is that during the activation process you have to navigate a little further - but you know the path anyway because you created it. Thus the path for Rome would be:

Addon Scenery -> Europe -> Italy...

For Bangkok it would be :

Addon Scenery -> Asia -> Thailand... etc. etc. Considering the amount of airports you have, the merits of this system become obvious quickly.

Now imagine you have about 50 aircraft carriers on top of that in your Addon Scenery directory Shocked
Simple solution: Create a new folder inside the Addon scenery directory and name it Carriers or anything you like and place all your carriers into that folder prior to activation.

Using this system, if I can't remember whether or not I already have a particular airport or carrier, looking them up and finding them has become much easier.

Now when you're instructed to install a scenery into the FS2004 root directory, I think that manly applies to sceneries with an installer... you'll probably find it'll end up in the Addon Scenery directory anyway.
I never run the installer without pointing it at a temporary folder I create on my desk-top. Once the files are extracted, I place them manually where they belong.

There is a third scenario you are mentioning where you're told to place certain files elsewhere i.e. outside the Addon Scenery directory.
When this happens, you'd better follow the instructions to the letter even if you are told to place such and such into your Addon Scenery directory.
Back to top
beroun
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 12, 2006
Posts: 115
Location: New York City
Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:30 pm 

Many thanks for your help.

I actually spend lot of time tidying up my addon files and grouped/moved (and also renamed) all. As mentioned before I had addon airports and some sceneries in FS/ directory in FS/scenery directory in FS/Addon Scenery and also in FS/Addon Scenery/scenery. All with different names. A real mess.

So from FS files I have copied all this mess into separate folders (outside of FS) designated by country and some areas (USA, UK, Asia e.t.c.) as suggested. Than, to be consistent, renamed each individual file (which had scenery and texture in it) by airport IATA code and airport Name ('KBOS Boston' for example).

Next in FS I deactivated all my airport and other sceneries. Then deleted the all the original mess files and placed my new country and area folders with individual files to FS/Addon Scenery directory. Lastly I activated all in FS (yes extra step was needed to open country and area files under Addon Scenery). Keeping in mind that default FS sceneries and some other such as Libraries and Landclass need to be below.

And bingo all works perfect. Even my FS seems faster (perhaps my imagination:) In either case, contrary to what was mentioned above it does not seem to metter where the new airports and scenry files are! I placed all in FS/Addon Scenery folder and all works perfect.

Thanks to all again for looking into this.
Peter
Back to top
Tailhook
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Oct 12, 2005
Posts: 8477
Location: El Dorado
Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:20 am 

I must say your obsession with tidiness is contagious.

Than, to be consistent, renamed each individual file (which had scenery and texture in it) by airport IATA code and airport Name ('KBOS Boston' for example).


I must do this one of these days when I find the time. Great to hear that everything is running smoothly despite the changes you've made.

Hoping not to complicate matters (that's why I didn't mention it in my previous post), you can actually keep your Scenery directory outside of FS all together.

Example:

On your C: Drive you create a folder named 0Scenery. The 0 is a Zero. Instead of having your scenery add-ons in the Program Files/Microsoft Games etc., you have them in 0Scenery.
Of course to do that now would be self-punishment Very Happy - I thought I mention it if you ever do a fresh complete new install of the sim.
I read about this once and tried it and it works perfectly. The old hands with slow, old rigs but plenty of logic came up with this.
Apparently the biggest hurdle concerning FS2004 can be the FPS... caused by the fact that as you are flying along, scenery has to be refreshed. To achieve this, the CPU (and or GPU?) have to work hard to get all the way to the place on the platter (your HDD) where the scenery folder by default and Microsoft's eternal wisdom is tucked away. Let's just say it's not a handy place to get to.

Now, having created a Scenery directory preceded by an 0 (Zero) this 'Scenery' folder is now on top of the list and the old rig can access the scenery easily.

I've been running both, FS2004 and FSX ever since FSX appeared. when I got a new computer some months ago I went a step further. Again the inspiration came from friends in the community.
Since MS Vista we have the additional problem of the UAC which has been partially carried over to W7. Apparently this can be a real problem with FSX. I cannot verify this as I changed my settings from the start. The problem they say is due to the UAC some (payware) add-ons have trouble communicating with the sim particularly if the sim is installed in the Program Files directory.

Sooo... to avoid all kinds of hassles, I installed both sims, FS2004 and FSX not in the Program Files directory, but in two directories I created instead.
Thus, if I open my Explorer now, I have two entries on top of the list - 0FS2004 and 0FSX respectively. Works like a charm, never had any problems, even most payware self-installers find the sim(s) - if they don't, we know what to do.

Happy simming Cheers!
Back to top
beroun
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 12, 2006
Posts: 115
Location: New York City
Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:26 am 

Wow,
that is a great! piece of advise!
Many! thanks
Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?

Yes, they have really improved it.
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with my original FSX.
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004.
No, X-Plane all the way!
...there's a Steam Edition?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 15433

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2018 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.