is my pc good enough for FSX?

Nirvanium17 Guest

Hey, I'm new to Flight Simulator in general. I was wondering if I shoyld by FS 2004 or FSX. I read that in order to have a good experience with FSX, you need a top-of-the-line PC. Is that true? I have a AMD Athlon 64 3000+, 1 gb of ram, and GeForce 6600 256 mb, 160 gb HD. Will FS 2004 work better with my PC? Or will FSX be fine? Thank you.

Answers 11 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

Stay with 2004 until you get a much better machine.
Good luck and enjoy it!

Radar

Pro Member First Officer
Greg West (BashDaBish) First Officer

Please bear in mind that a 90% of my recent screeinies have come from an AthlonXP 64 3000, with 2gb ram, 160gb SATA2 HD and 2 x 7300GT cards.

You are not that far away.

Nirvanium Guest

Thanks alot Radarman. I apologize, I didn't see the sticky with the Game Advisor link. The Game Advisor told me my computer was great, and that I was in the top 7% of all PCs scanned. I'm sure when it told me that when my PC was capable of running FSX, it was talking about the minimum requirements, am I correct? Anway thanks alot for all your help. Peace

Pro Member First Officer

It checks against minimum requirements.

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

Nirvanium wrote:

Thanks alot Radarman. I apologize, I didn't see the sticky with the Game Advisor link. The Game Advisor told me my computer was great, and that I was in the top 7% of all PCs scanned. I'm sure when it told me that when my PC was capable of running FSX, it was talking about the minimum requirements, am I correct? Anway thanks alot for all your help. Peace

Minimum for FSX is miserable, stick with FS9 and all the add-ons for it will be much cheaper now.

Radar

Nirvanium17 Guest

BashDaBish wrote:

It checks against minimum requirements.

What do you mean by checking "against" min. req.?

Pro Member First Officer