Lost scenic definition

Pro Member Trainee
jlaurie Trainee

Somehow I've lost the definition of craggy mountain slopes I used to have. Now they appear only as 'poorly defined mounds' I'm no expert on the Options page in MSFS so, if anyone can help me fix this problem I'd certainly appreciate it.

Answers 1 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

Hello there!

It sounds like you're experiencing a loss of terrain detail in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020, specifically with the mountainous areas. No worries, I'm here to help you get that stunning definition back. Based on your description, it seems like your issue could be related to the graphics settings or a possible issue with the terrain data itself. Let's go through some steps to try and resolve this problem.

Graphics Settings: The first thing you'll want to check is your graphics settings in the MSFS Options page. Make sure that the terrain level of detail (LOD) is set to a higher value. You can find this under the Graphics tab in Options:
Options > Graphics > Terrain Level of Detail

I'd recommend setting the Terrain Level of Detail slider to at least 100 or higher, depending on your system's capabilities. You may also want to check other settings like texture resolution, texture synthesis, and mesh resolution.

Data Streaming: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 utilizes Bing Maps data to render its detailed terrain. Ensure that you have data streaming enabled and that you're connected to the internet. You can find this under the Data tab in the Options menu:

Options > Data > Online Functionality > ON
Options > Data > Bing Data World Graphics > ON

Also, make sure your bandwidth usage is set to unlimited or an appropriate value for your internet connection speed.