Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

How to set up trim up/down and/or pitch up/down on joystick

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
Brettxw
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 29, 2009
Posts: 56
Location: East Coast
Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 9:06 am 

I'd like to set the trim/up and/or pitch up/down on a rotating button on the throttle control (saitek x52 controller system). If I go into the control options, I can not set it up to be on one of the rotating buttons..only allows me to select buttons. I would prefer the rotating button so I can easy adjust it slowly by rotating...how can I do that?
Back to top
truckernick
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 19, 2006
Posts: 548
Location: salt Lake City
Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 2:45 am 

Brettxw wrote:
I'd like to set the trim/up and/or pitch up/down on a rotating button on the throttle control (saitek x52 controller system). If I go into the control options, I can not set it up to be on one of the rotating buttons..only allows me to select buttons. I would prefer the rotating button so I can easy adjust it slowly by rotating...how can I do that?


Well usually when the joystick doesn't let you set something, you can usually set it in the keys options in fsx.
Back to top
Brettxw
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 29, 2009
Posts: 56
Location: East Coast
Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:20 am 

truckernick wrote:
Brettxw wrote:
I'd like to set the trim/up and/or pitch up/down on a rotating button on the throttle control (saitek x52 controller system). If I go into the control options, I can not set it up to be on one of the rotating buttons..only allows me to select buttons. I would prefer the rotating button so I can easy adjust it slowly by rotating...how can I do that?


Well usually when the joystick doesn't let you set something, you can usually set it in the keys options in fsx.


Ya, thats the problem though. I want don't want to have to use the keyboard to set the trim and/or pitch.
Back to top
Accelor
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 24, 2008
Posts: 120
Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:15 am 

First of all the X52 Joystick doesn't have rotating knobs except the ( Mode Select ) next the Fire A button Confused If you mean the Rotaries on the Throttle it could be done but not worth the effort.

Why not assign them to one of the HAT Switches. That can be done either through key assignment in FSX or Saitek software. Arrow Software being the best way and also creates a profile.

If you want to do in in fsx control buttons and keys.

Double click on [ Trim up ] your cursor will flash in the box. Push up on the [ Hat Switch ] of choice, you will see the button # appear in the box, click OK. Continue with the rest the same way up down left right..........

Last edited by Accelor on Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:23 am, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Brettxw
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 29, 2009
Posts: 56
Location: East Coast
Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:21 am 

Accelor wrote:
First of all the X52 Joystick doesn't have rotating knobs except the ( Mode Select ) next the Fire A button Confused If you mean the Rotaries on the Throttle it could be done but not worth the effort.

Why not assign them to one of the HAT Switches. That can be done either through key assignment in FSX or Saitek software. Arrow Software being the best way and also creates a profile.



Actually, funny you said that because as I was flying yesterday it hit me to assign it to one of the hat switches. Even though this x52 joystick sucks and is having problems!! GR
Back to top
Accelor
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 24, 2008
Posts: 120
Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:26 am 

Brettxw wrote:
Accelor wrote:
First of all the X52 Joystick doesn't have rotating knobs except the ( Mode Select ) next the Fire A button Confused If you mean the Rotaries on the Throttle it could be done but not worth the effort.

Why not assign them to one of the HAT Switches. That can be done either through key assignment in FSX or Saitek software. Arrow Software being the best way and also creates a profile.



Actually, funny you said that because as I was flying yesterday it hit me to assign it to one of the hat switches. Even though this x52 joystick sucks and is having problems!! GR


One of the best STICK out their. You just have to learn how to set it up.
Back to top
truckernick
Captain
Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Mar 19, 2006
Posts: 548
Location: salt Lake City
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:19 am 

Brettxw wrote:
truckernick wrote:
Brettxw wrote:
I'd like to set the trim/up and/or pitch up/down on a rotating button on the throttle control (saitek x52 controller system). If I go into the control options, I can not set it up to be on one of the rotating buttons..only allows me to select buttons. I would prefer the rotating button so I can easy adjust it slowly by rotating...how can I do that?


Well usually when the joystick doesn't let you set something, you can usually set it in the keys options in fsx.


Ya, thats the problem though. I want don't want to have to use the keyboard to set the trim and/or pitch.

No i mean, you don't have to use the keyboard if you set it in the keys options.
Like when i play other driving or flying games and i can't set the key on the joystick, i can usually set it in the keys for the joystick.
Like once set it will say like joy 1 or something of hat you have i set to.
Back to top
Brettxw
Trainee
Trainee

Pro Member

Joined: Nov 29, 2009
Posts: 56
Location: East Coast
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:35 am 

Accelor wrote:
Brettxw wrote:
Accelor wrote:
First of all the X52 Joystick doesn't have rotating knobs except the ( Mode Select ) next the Fire A button Confused If you mean the Rotaries on the Throttle it could be done but not worth the effort.

Why not assign them to one of the HAT Switches. That can be done either through key assignment in FSX or Saitek software. Arrow Software being the best way and also creates a profile.



Actually, funny you said that because as I was flying yesterday it hit me to assign it to one of the hat switches. Even though this x52 joystick sucks and is having problems!! GR


One of the best STICK out their. You just have to learn how to set it up.



You may think its the best. I've gone through two of them already. Both had the SAME issue. The lights on the joystick would flicker and become very dull then pop up to being bright. Saitek so far has been nothing but junk with my experience. And trying to get help from them, thats another story.
Back to top
Accelor
First Officer
First Officer

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 24, 2008
Posts: 120
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:12 pm 

Brettxw wrote:
Accelor wrote:
Brettxw wrote:
Accelor wrote:
First of all the X52 Joystick doesn't have rotating knobs except the ( Mode Select ) next the Fire A button Confused If you mean the Rotaries on the Throttle it could be done but not worth the effort.

Why not assign them to one of the HAT Switches. That can be done either through key assignment in FSX or Saitek software. Arrow Software being the best way and also creates a profile.



Actually, funny you said that because as I was flying yesterday it hit me to assign it to one of the hat switches. Even though this x52 joystick sucks and is having problems!! GR


One of the best STICK out their. You just have to learn how to set it up.



You may think its the best. I've gone through two of them already. Both had the SAME issue. The lights on the joystick would flicker and become very dull then pop up to being bright. Saitek so far has been nothing but junk with my experience. And trying to get help from them, thats another story.


I said one of the best not THE. And you can addjust the brightness in the control panel. The fiickering lights are usualy from loose cable connection.
Back to top
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Hot Payware

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?

Yes, they have really improved it.
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with my original FSX.
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004.
No, X-Plane all the way!
...there's a Steam Edition?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 193

Social

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2014 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.