Frustrating High-End Performance..

Bill Denny Guest

**Disclaimer, for those who also peruse the flightsim.com forums, yes...this is a duplicate post, but the work computer I'm on for some reason let me post a new topic, but won't actually let me view the post and responses...so it's going here to so I can still hear back...**

I like to have a realistic flight sim experience. I'm a real world private pilot who doesn't fly as much as I'd like to, so I default to FSX when I can't rent a 172. I've seen the real McGee from the pointy end of a real plane, so it pretty much put an end to my default FSX days.

I actually put my money where my mouth is though... 6 months after the original build, the Haswell's came out. So, along with the 4770K, I had to get the Z87, and what the hell, why not upgrade the GPU why I'm at it.

Final build is the ASUS Z87- PRO, with the 4700K, clocked up to 4.6GHz (Separate story there about the overclock, for those who build your own rigs and do your own OC'ing, I totally lucked out and got a 'golden chip')

What else...oh, 16Gb of DDR at 2400Mhz. I'm at work, so this part is a little bit foggy, but I believe I left the timings at
9-11-11-24-1T. I have a 1Tb 7200rpm HDD, but the OS and FSX are on a SSD.

GPU is a 4GB 760. Before you go off on that, I want to point out I'm running 4 monitors, 3 for FSX and 1 for charts, youtube, etc. So I needed a wee bit more VRAM, plus I was told after the fact that PMDG does a lot of their stuff outside the FSX engine, and is more GPU intensive than most FSX addons, so I got that going for me, which is nice.

So, it's not a crappy computer. I'm proud of it, and it runs everything under the sun fantastically. Even FSX under conditions most people would find acceptable.

Maybe I'm looking for too much, maybe I need to wait until the Broadwells come out and pick up a couple Titans, but here's my dilemma.