Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

What Do I Have To Do To Run FSX Smoothly? Graphic Card?

   
Author Message
Mathias Frederik Antonsen
Guest





Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:20 pm 

Hello! I have a question that I would appreciate very much if you could answer me... I'm not a technical genious, so I don't know what's wrong...

U see.. I have Aerosoft Oslo 2.0 and REX 4 Texture Direct. I am going to buy PMDG 737 NGX, and Aerosoft's My Traffic. But the problem is, that FSX is lagging with the addons that I already have... So the question is, what do I have to buy, or replace, that will make my FSX run smoothly??

My PC-specs are:

Dell XPS 8300
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40GHz
RAM: 6.00 GB
System type: 64 bit

Graphic card: AMD RADEON HD 6450
Total memory (graphic card): 3817 MB
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19024
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:48 pm 

From my perspective you have a good CPU, just about enough ram (8 would be nice) but your video card isn't up to par.
You need a good (minimum) 2gig card to have better fps especially if you are going to buy such a graphic intensive aircraft.
AI eats up a video card and CPU...as does extra scenery,
I hope you have at least a 750w minimum power supply to run everything.
Older computers can be pushed just so far.

Radar

Back to top
Mathias Frederik Antonsen
Guest





Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:43 pm 

Thanks!!
Back to top
Mathias Frederik Antonsen
Guest





Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:41 am 

Hi again... i just wondered.. you told me to get a graphic card with 2gb at least... but the card that i have does already have 3.8gb.. so if i buy a card with 2 gb, wouldn't FSX lag even more?? or is it quality it depends on?? like, for example: is it possible to have a bad 4gb card, and buy a 2 gb good card, and then run FSX better than the 4gb would have done??
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 19024
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:42 pm 

As you see in the specs tab you only have 512mb to 1 gig on your present card, not 3gigs.

http://www.amd.com/en-us/products/graphics/desktop/6000/6450#

That other card that you saw on eBay, I gave you links to it showing that it wasn't a "gaming" card.
Those are the things you have to look for.
I posted a new review link in the Hardware Forum of prices and strengths of many of the latest cards, check that out.
Anyone selling a card will build up the description, these reviews are just that...reviews.
They have nothing to gain by building up the reputation of the cards.

Radar

Back to top
joseph64
Guest





Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:03 pm 

best cpu for FSX is the i5 6600k, you don't need an i7, if you go to userbenchmarks and compare the i5 to an i7 in gameing, there almost the same %, the i7 is for content creaters, I have everything set on high with orbx scenery and still get 45 to 50 FPS, over 100 FPS without scenery
Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?

Yes, they have really improved it.
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with my original FSX.
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004.
No, X-Plane all the way!
...there's a Steam Edition?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 15433

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2018 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.