Fly Away Simulation
Your #1 Source for Flight Simulators!

Search for Downloads

Use this form to search for downloads and addons including aircraft, scenery and more.

Search entire site

Use this form to perform a site-wide search for forum posts, news and reviews and videos.

SearchSearch 

FSX reinstall problem in windows 7

   
Author Message
Edmeister
Guest





Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:56 pm 

Hi guys! I uninstalled FSX because I was having problems copy and pasting downloaded airplanes. So, I tried to reinstall FSX.

When I put the CD in the drive, it would go as far as Install Wizard, then it said Copying Files, but nothing happened. This is on a 64 bit system.

I tried to install as an Administrator and a User and it wouldn't load.

I've had this purchased copy of FSX since 2006 or whenever it first came out.

I installed FS9 and it loaded fine.

What I'm wondering is if my copy of FSX is simply worn out?

As always, thanks --

Edmeister



Confused
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 18963
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:42 pm 

Chances are that you left some hidden folders or some registry lines are still there.

Try free revo and see if that helps.

http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_uninstaller_free_download.html

Radar

Back to top
Edmeister
Guest





Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:01 am 

Radar Man, I downloaded the uninstaller that you recommended, I still can't get it to reinstall. Do you think if I
got another copy of FSX, that it might install?

Thanks, Edmeister Smile Smile
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 18963
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 6:58 am 

No, you have something left on your computer as I said.
You have to clean that out.

Very seldom do the disks get "bad".
Search the computer for FSX and search the registry if you know how.
If you don't you can download a 30 free trial of registry cleaner.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Registry_cleaner

Radar

Back to top
Edmeister
Guest





Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:28 am 

Radar Man, I finally got FSX to work. I had forgotten I had copied it to a flash drive. I tried all of your suggestions,
and none of them worked. I did find some FSX files in the registry, but deleting them did not help. As a last resort,
I copy pasted FSX from the flash drive to the hard drive, and now it works just fine. I am even able to copy paste
my downloaded planes into my hangar. Thanks again for all your help.


Edmeister
Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
RadarMan
Chief Captain
Chief Captain

Pro Member

Joined: Aug 25, 2003
Posts: 18963
Location: U.S.A
Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:07 pm 

Glad you have it working now!

Radar

Back to top
   
All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related Topics

Sign-Up

Signing-up for a Pro account gives you super fast uncapped speed to the thousands of FSX, FS2004 & X-Plane downloads which include aircraft, scenery and more - click here to view the library for free or...

Go Pro
Sign-Up Now

Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

Join over 130,000 subscribers of our free dedicated flight simulation newsletter. Featuring new downloads, products and industry news.

 

Survey

Have you downloaded your copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator X: Steam Edition?

Yes, they have really improved it.
No, I haven't downloaded it yet...
I'm going to stick with my original FSX.
I haven't even moved to FSX, I'm sticking with FS2004.
No, X-Plane all the way!
...there's a Steam Edition?
I've moved to Prepar3D.

Votes 15430

Social

Follow us on Social Networks

Subscribe to our newsletter

 
RSS Feed iPhone App

Terms & Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Copyright © 2017 Fly Away Simulation. All Rights Reserved.