Troubleshooting Missing Entries in FSX Flight Log

Albert Arning Guest

I've been using FSX for 4 months now and there are no new entries in the flight log.  I typically fly 2 or 3 flights a day so the other features seem to be working ok.  Any suggestions for a fix on this?

Answers 1 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

Firstly, I'd like to express my understanding of your issue with FSX's flight log. It can be a bit disheartening to put in all that flying time and not see the records reflected in the log. From my knowledge, this is a known quirk with Microsoft Flight Simulator X, but there are various steps you can take to address it.

• 1. Backup & Check your Logbook File:
    Your flight log is stored in a file named "logbook.bin". It's essential to make a backup of this file before attempting any fixes. The default location is typically:
    C:\Users[YourUsername]\Documents\Flight Simulator X Files

• 2. Corruption of the Logbook File:
    There have been instances where the "logbook.bin" gets corrupted.

• Backup your "logbook.bin" as mentioned above.
    • Delete the original (ensure you have the backup).
    • Restart FSX and undertake a flight. Once finished, check if a new log entry is made.
  • 3. Third-party Addons:
    Are you using any third-party addons? Sometimes these can interfere with FSX's normal operations. Consider:

• Temporarily disabling them.
    • Conducting a flight.
    • Checking if the log updates.
  • 4. User Permissions:
    FSX may not have the necessary permissions to write to the logbook.

• Right-click the FSX icon and choose Run as administrator.
    • Check if this resolves the issue.
  • 5. Alternative Logging Tools: