Best Flight Simulator for Beginners: Seeking the Ideal Entry-Level Experience

Eduardo EWSG Guest

Hi there,

I am totally new to this kind of PC game. I have already played simulators, but only for trucks, trains, etc.

I have no knowledge in flying sims as well and I am not a pilot. But I wanted to learn and play a flight simulator. The problem is that there are a lot of titles, and I really don't know which is the most appropriate for a beginner, and/or which has some kind of in-game tutorial, etc.

I see X-Plane with several versions, Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020, Microsoft Flight Simulator X, etc. Well, what would be the most appropriate in my case?

I would be extremely grateful for any help if possible.

Thanks in advance.

Answers 2 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

I appreciate your enthusiasm for entering the realm of flight simulators. It's a wonderful journey, filled with both challenges and triumphs. Given your background in other simulation games and your eagerness to delve into aviation, I'm here to guide you through selecting the most suitable flight simulator for a beginner like yourself.

Understanding Your Needs
Firstly, it's crucial to identify what you're looking for in a flight simulator. Are you interested more in the realism of the flight mechanics or the visual and geographical accuracy? Do you prefer a more guided experience with tutorials, or are you comfortable exploring and learning as you go?

Flight Simulators for Beginners

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 (MSFS 2020): This is the latest in the series and boasts stunning visuals and a vast array of aircraft. MSFS 2020 is known for its user-friendly interface and excellent tutorials, making it ideal for beginners. The simulator covers the basics of flying, navigation, and more, providing a comprehensive introduction to aviation.