Installing Mods, MSFS2020

Pro Member Trainee
Chorizo915 Trainee

I've downloaded the mods, extracted them into the community folder, but the aircraft/scenery aren't showing up in my game.  I re-read the instructions, and tried drilling down into the download folders to try and find which one I'm supposed to move into the community folder.  I'm new at modding so I need help beyond "extract into community folder."

Answers 2 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

Hello,

First of all, welcome to the world of modding! It can be a bit tricky at first, but once you get the hang of it, you'll find it greatly enhances your MSFS2020 experience. I'll be more than happy to provide you with a step-by-step guide on how to install mods correctly. Let's go through it together.

Step-by-step guide to installing mods in MSFS2020:

1. First, locate your MSFS2020 Community folder. It can be found in the installation directory of your Microsoft Flight Simulator. If you've installed the simulator through Microsoft Store or Game Pass, the default path should be:
    C:\Users\YOUR_USERNAME\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.FlightSimulator_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache\Packages\Community
    If you have the Steam version, the default path is:
    C:\Users\YOUR_USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft Flight Simulator\Packages\Community
    Please replace YOUR_USERNAME with your actual username on your computer.

2. Once you've located the Community folder, make sure you've unzipped the mod files you've downloaded. Most mods come in a compressed format, like .zip, .rar, or .7z. You can use tools like WinRAR, 7-Zip, or the built-in Windows utility to extract these files.