My First Real Flight Report (21 images) INCLUDES AEROBATICS

Chief Captain
ceetee Chief Captain

I was offered to be taken up for a spin by a pilot named Wombat (aka Andrew Hope) around the city of Auckland in his American Champion Citabria aircraft- We had an amazing time!

Before I start my report, I would firstly like to thank Andrew for his outstanding level of generosity and for trusting me in the front seat of his aircraft, and also, all the guys in the NZAA Tower who let us fly along the runway 23L approach and low over their airspace, in a single engine prop, which apart from today is not otherwise permitted. I really appreciate the opportunity to see the airport from an angle I would have never otherwise have seen (I did not expect to see a front seat view of the approach to NZAA for a good number of years yet). Thank you everyone for letting me have such an amazing experience and inspiring me even more to work towards my eventual goal of being a pilot myself some day.

So, in this thread I have written up a little report about our flight, including 21 photos I took. They have been resized down to 800x600 pixels to load faster and have a file size of 3.17mb all together.

Anyhow, the story of my first flight is as follows:

I woke up nice and early and drove down to Ardmore Airport to meet up with Andrew at 8am. He showed me around his aircraft ZK-CIT, which is an ‘American Champion Citabria’. We both did the walk around inspection and the pre-flight checks, and he helpfully explained what and why he was doing along the way. As you can image, I had already learnt a lot of new things by the time we where holding at runway 21 ready for take off at about 5 minutes to 9.00am.

I was allowed to sit in the front seat which I was not expecting, as Wombat is a flight instructor and used to flying from the rear seat. This made the take off lots of fun forme as I sat in front of the windshield and watched the ground disappear below me.